We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”

Fresh Basil - Deli & Eaterie
Ranked #3 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Belper
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant in Belper
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

every so often me & my boyfriend come here for breakfast, eggs benedict is a firm favourite of mine but this last time we both had the Derbyshire breakfast & it was yummy! not at all surprised it won best breakfast 2012! we will be back again soon x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    83
    34
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Have only ever had breakfast/brunch here and its lovely. Sometimes a bit too busy but if you can find a table the food is served fairly quickly. A little expensive but a nice treat now and again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Medders6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardolino
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Basil”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having not visited fresh basil for a while although the deli part is excellent thought that the actual coffee shop had changed quite abit from when the previous owners were in charge not as much choice cake wise as there used to be and really cramped seating also if you have to sit downstairs there was a real chill when the door opened and if you want to take young children in there its impossible to go upstairs with them ,Used to visit a couple of times a week but think it has lost its appeal somewhat, food still good though

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubydeeBardolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent well presented, tasty food”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm a lady who does lunch and I travel some distance to visit Fresh Basil with a variety of my lunching friends. Whatever I choose is always lovely. The portion sizes are very good, the food is fresh and well presented. There is a variety of food to choose from. My last visit was the 24th. I ordered the open sandwich with sauted potatos which was really good. The guy at the next table had ordered breakfast which I had never seen before. Crikey - I bet he went out into the cold feeling very satisfied having eaten all that. The homemade cakes, the choices of which are abundant, are delicious. Really can't fault you Fresh Basil so please, dont change a thing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe and deli”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh basil is a must for anyone visiting Belper. Find the perfect cheese, meats or locally sourced food and relax in the cafe. The sharing options are a must!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaAVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Basil - Deli & Eaterie also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to Fresh Basil - Deli & Eaterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing