We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb evening”

Angelos Restaurant at the New Inn
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb evening”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friends met to celebrate a birthday on friday night, the restaurant was busy with great atmosphere. The welcome was warm and service good. The table was comfortable even for 12 people. The food was superb, scallops for starters and chicken for mains with tasty vegetables. No room for dessert, but enjoyed the liqueur coffee. Great value for the quality served. I will certainly re visit and recommend to everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    97
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, great service.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a good quality local Italian restaurant. We ate there on a Saturday evening and had a table booked for two at 6.45pm. I think they start serving at 6,30pm. The early time suited us as we prefer not to eat too late. The restaurant was quite busy but tables are well spaced so you are not on top of each other.

The food was really good. We have eaten here several times before and the quality of food and the service has remained very good. Angelo the owner is attentive to his customers and his staff are all polite, efficient and importantly cheerful.

Prices are also very good for the quality of food. The restaurant is only accessible by steep steps due to its position. There is no way around this and therefore anyone with a disability would have great difficulty here. That's a shame and no reflection on Angelo's whatsoever.

Well worth a visit - we will certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ke1thred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ok, but expensive.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday evening as a party of 4. The bar area is small and became crowded quickly while people waited for their tables and staff tried to pass through with food to the front of the two dining rooms.

I had the fishcake starter which was quite good although the filling was more potato and a little mushier than expected. The Venison steak main course came with mushrooms and a sauce so dark it was difficult to see which was which. One of our party ordered the loin of lamb which appeared to have the same sauce on and even the waiter wasn't sure which was which as he put them on the table. The steak was a little overcooked from medium for my liking. The other two in our party had the Salmon which they said was cooked beautifully. The mains were accompanied by carrots and mange tout, spring cabbage with pancetta, chips and potatoes.

I didn't have dessert, but a couple of the party did. The Tiramisu was acceptable but nothing special.

The staff were very good throughout, they were polite and efficient, we were never rushed into leaving once we had finished our meals.

Overall, whilst we had a very nice evening in quite a lively atmosphere, I felt that it was a little on the expensive side for the quality of the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My partner and I visit this restaurant regularly. We have never been disappointed. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to anyone.

One pointer, it would be nice if the staff had name badges.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JXF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Out of this world **Amazing food**”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Angelo & his friendly team always make you feel welcome, treated as an individual, real good customer service & very personable. The food is beautiful & we have visited many times in the past for large family meals/dinner with friends. The choice in the menu should cater for anybody as they always endure that you are catered fur, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Looking forward to our next meal :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmsybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelos Restaurant at the New Inn also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 
 

Been to Angelos Restaurant at the New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing