We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Everything I expect from a restaurant.”
Review of The Devonshire

The Devonshire
Ranked #34 of 77 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a small town Pub/Restaurant situated in the heart of Belper, Derbyshire. We serve home made traditional and modern Lunches and Dinners. Generous selection of menu's, including locally sourced meats, specials and home made desserts. Also a Carvery served 12 noon-3pm Mon to Sat, 5pm-8pm Mon to Sat and 12 noon-7pm Sunday.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent - Everything I expect from a restaurant.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was busy, but not crowded, with muted music in the background. The choice of menu was comprehensive - our party of 5 enjoyed two types of chicken, sea bass, scampi and jacket potato, all served with either salad or vegetables. The desert choice was so good that my grandson could not decide which of 2 he wanted, so he was served two half portions, while the portion size were generous. The ale was very good, the service excellent, price very reasonable at £15 per head for a two course evening meal with drinks.
I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortress384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    48
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Get-together”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Six of my family went to the Devonshire, tonight, for a meal. I have to say it was one of the best steaks I have ever had.
The staff were extremely helpful and made our visit a pleasure. Everyone enjoyed their meals, and we will certainly be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnplus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private Party”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently attended a private function at the Devonshire, a friends birthday party. The hospitality was very good and the owners and staff were very attentive,there was a very good atmosphere, the buffet was excellent - a really good variety catering for all tastes and all home cooked food. The building itself is old and whilst the interior is modern and clean it has retained character. A bigger bar would add value and is a must. We have been here before for drinks and the owners are always very welcoming. Outside there is a rabbit hutch with the biggest rabbit we have ever seen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Devonshire - a delicious Sunday roast”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family party of three adults recently ate the Sunday carvery lunch at this pub / restaurant and it was very good indeed ...

Positives:

When travelling in the Belper area, this venue has become something of a favourite eating place for us. We always find the food to be of a better than average pub restaurant standard. We hadn't previously tried the Sunday carvery, but found it deliciously good and can recommend it without hesitation. Great value too as the entire bill for 2 rounds of alcohol / soft drinks and three carvery lunches came in at under £36. Amazing!

There was a good selection of three joints to choose from; a nice selection of accompanying vegetables that were properly cooked (crispy not mushy!). The mashed potato deserves a special mention because it was probably the most tasty and buttery mash any of my party can remember eating out at any recent venues. Scrumptious in fact.

Negatives:

This is clearly a very popular eating venue - especially so on a Sunday (no surprise because the food tastes great). Although we had pre-booked, and arrived on time, the general waiting service was we found to be rather slow to forgetful.

Summary:

I can definitely recommend this venue for a drink and / or a delicious meal, just so long as you're not in a rush for service. Great, welcoming staff, convenient main road location with ample car parking at the rear. Top value and comfortable venue for a meal out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valandal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Popped in for a night-cap”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Clean and modern interior to an older building but still retained some warmth. Fairly friendly and nice atmosphere at the time we dropped in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolandJohn3159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devonshire also viewed

 

Been to The Devonshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing