We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spanker Inn

The Spanker Inn
Ranked #17 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After hearing nothing but good feedback from friends and family about this pub I decided to give the carvery a go, very disappointed to find the smallest carvery selection I have ever seen. The meat looked like scraps that were left over, the yorkshire puddings were burnt and the mash potato was that stodgy that I couldn't even get it off the spoon! Would have liked to have tried a pudding but due to lack of options we decided to cut our losses and head home for pudding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kangaroo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Carvery”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited the Spanker last Sunday and had the Carvery, I have to say the food was absolutely delicious!, there was a choice of 4 veg, 3 meat choices, mashed & roast potatoes, not forgetting yummy yorkshire puddings and stuffing and their gravy is so tasty, proper meat gravy.

Will definitely be returning....might give the Thursday steak night a go :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpankerManager, a at The Spanker Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
we are truly glad that you enjoyed your meal with us many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On a hill going down hill”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Last time I visited the Spanker it wes excellent service and value for money. My last visit this week it was lovely to see the excellent re-furbishment and very comfortable and warm. The choice of 4 traditional beers was superb. The carvery on the other hand was terrible. Plates meets and veg was stone cold and the yorkshire puddings were burnt, the sweets choice was limited to just three and cheese was unavailable. I will have to think long and hard before I visit this pub for food again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tizemself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpankerManager, a at The Spanker Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are sorry that on three occasions we have failed to please we remember you well,
as you can see we are now active on trip advisor, we will react to posts posted from now on and act accordingly..
Thanks..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not much choice of food on menu and not clear as to what you could order. Atmosphere not great but food was ok when it came.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Big refurb but food and service not as good as before.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Well in order to make this review fair we've been a few times for carvery, steak night and have eaten off the lunch menu. The food is ok but not spectacular and as other reviews have said, not quite as good as before. Less tasty, less finesse and service and welcome not quite as attentive and warm. I really want to be more impressed than I am, because it's one of our local haunts and we have often met friends there for drinks and meals. The carvery is the best option but it's not always on over the festive period so check before you go.

Our last visit a week ago was the worst visit yet. Service slow, food average, long wait for sauces, poor choice for dessert. We would have all had a pudding but felt unimpressed, so had a mince pie at home. A shame for the pub as I'm sure they are not maximizing their sales with the current menu and service.

The new look is ok, but toilets are freezing and badly finished off. Make sure you take your coat!

I think the current owners and manager should take heed of the advice offered on top this site as most local customers want to see this lovely local pub back on top form. We'll give it another go go a few weeks to see if they've stepped up their game.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smeehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spanker Inn also viewed

Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Spanker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing