We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing accomadation and perfect location”
Two Spacious Lounges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village Main Bar Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Dining Room with dining space for 41 Guests
Two Spacious Lounges
Fabulous Games Room
Fabulous Games Room
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen with Service Area
Dining Room
Entrance Hall
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bathrooms
Bathrooms
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
16 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Bamford, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gavin D
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing accomadation and perfect location”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked the venue for a stag weekend as we thought it would be great to run our own pub for the weekend. The venue exceeded our expectations, the finish was amazing, it was like staying in a 5 star hotel, but we got to run it. If you have a large party to arrange or a family gathering defiantly look into booking this venue.
I have in criticism but we were made aware of this prior to going and that was the noise restriction after 10am. It could do with another room, sound proofed so party's can carry on, maybe convert the cellar. Apart from that it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Running our own pub
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adea1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A perfect venue for a large group of families”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Derwent has been recently and beautifully renovated. The refit is to a high standard and with good taste. It is a converted pub so has open and interconnecting downstairs reception rooms and is in a village location - 2 mins walk from the nearest pub and opposite a bakery.
The room layout is exactly as described on the website and the owner has a very helpful list of local contacts, activities and recommendations. The pool table and table football were enjoyable activities at the house and it is obviously always fun to have your own bar!
We had a wonderful weekend away with 7 families easily accommodated here - making use of the bunk rooms for older kids and family rooms for those with younger kids who enjoyed having a TV in their room!
Overall a fabulous house, the owner has done a fabulous job and access is by key code so people can come and go as they please without needing the key holder present!
We are now just looking for an excuse to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish decor and large dining room
Liked least: Automatic lights and no open access from living rooms to garden area
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just back from a friend's 40th long weekend celebration at the Derwent, and we're already looking for an excuse to go back.

The venue surpassed our expectations...décor, facilities, location - all great. we travelled there with young children - and the layout and security makes it great for young families.

I'd happily recommend this venue for any occasion.

Loved it, and have some fond memories from our stay there...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The layout and amenities are great.
Liked least: Smallish garden for kids. But Chatsworth House is 20 mins away - great playpark & petting zoo for kids there.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar is certainly something different and special
Liked least: The lights are automatic so at night it wasn't possible to dim the lights to create a nice atmosphere
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gary w
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“clean, comfortable, great place to stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Recently stayed at the derwent with 25 friends the place was spotless and decorated to a high standard.everything you needed was there to enjoy a great weekend,loads of space large kitchen,large dinning area, great bar and games room and very comfortable bedrooms, many thanks to Chriss for looking after us and making us feel very welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlgjem
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent my hen weekend with my friends and family at the Derwent and we couldn't have picked a better place. The space, and facilities are wonderful for a large group. The decor is very tasteful and the beds are extremely comfortable. Before we arrived I was slightly concerned about the bunk bed rooms as there are no photos, but even these rooms are lovely and spacious with big beds. We hardly left the place for the whole weekend. Having the bar, dining room and lounges all close together meant it was easy to socialise and yet there was plenty of room if you wanted to get away from it all. The kitchen facilities were excellent and we catered easily for all of us. We all thought it was an amazing place to stay and we are thinking of an excuse to go again. I would thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone who is planning a stay away for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: only having one towel per guest
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesMcAr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible venue”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

30th Birthday party
Massive recently refurbished pub / hotel that can sleep up to 40, has it's own bar area with fridges / glasses etc, snooker room, giant dining table etc. There are a couple of great pubs nearby, right in the heart of the Peak District for walks etc. Was perfect for our large group. The venue is really well soundproofed too, despite being a large group you couldn't hear any noise outside, sheltered smoking area round the back, great service / info from the booking agents, constant hot water, super difficult to find a great venue of this size!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, space, well soundproofed
Liked least: The only negative was the automatic lighting in the bar area, no way to dim the lights, other than that everything else was perfect
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing