We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff need managing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Reading other reports, there seems to be a common theme. Bar staff are poor, nobody at the bar but carried on talking between themselves and had to repeat bar order 3 times. Ordered x3 steak and ale pies and got x3 steak and kidney pies, asked for one to be original order, so 1 person eating when others had finished. Deserts brought out before table cleared etc. etc. A poor expensive experience BUT the food was good, if you manage to get what you ordered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GodsCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

This pub advertises and a dog/pet friendly pub, I especially researched for "Dog Friendly" pubs in the area to ensure there was somewhere to take cover should the weather turn for the worst.

After a walk around Derwent Dam and Lady bower Reservoir with our 4 Month old pup we thought we would pop into the The Yorkshire Bridge Inn for a drink and warm up.

Before entering I thought best to check out the "Dog Friendly" Situation so I walked up to the bar and asked " Hello are we ok to bring the pup in for 10 minutes" to this I received a very rude answer of " NO people are eating, they don't want a dog in while they are dining" which by the way I can totally understand its not hygienic it was just the way the barman came across very rude if he had just said "we do have people eating so maybe not the best idea at the moment" I would have left and thought nothing else of it

However after looking at the menu food is served till 9.30 in the evening so it baffles me how they can advertise as a "Dog Friendly" pub if you can't take your dog in? maybe its over night stayed after 9.30?

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pommie1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I have been dining here over the past 10 or more years and have always enjoyed exceptionally good meals. The staff are very friendly and are very helpfull. The Sunday roast is to be specially recommended. We have also been there on Bank Holidays and were told " would you maind waiting 40 mins for your meal", it was very busy. We were served within 15mins with an excellent meal. I would vote it one of the best places to eat at. Another good point they serve locally brewed beers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank yorky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The stay overall was good , the evening meal was served on time and was very nice the staff were very pleasant in fact the elder lady that appeared in charge was exceptional.. , we were happy with the room which was very clean and warm,, All changed however when we went down stairs for breakfast today Sunday 12 th January 2014,, The waitress was working alone and basically rude, She was unfriendly and very grumpy when I asked her for brown sauce she snapped I haven't asked you yet if you want sauces , then stormed off I had to go to the bar and ask her again if she would let us have some ,, 10 minutes later ,,The man on the next table asked for milk and she said it was on the table he had to fetch his own milk She was asked by a pregnant lady for something I did not hear what it was but the waitress snapped its there on the table pointing to the top table, the pregnant lady fetched something from the table the waitress was passing whilst serving, if she was asked for anything by anyone she would point to the nearby table and say its there !!
As a result of our experience with this waitress we will not be going back ,, albeit we have stayed there before and had no such events happen to us it was pleasant last time and was this time until this morning ,,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodie-1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a night here between Christmas and New Year 2013. The room was clean and tidy and the hotel provided a cot for our little girl. We would have preferred to be a little closer to the bar but that's a minor point. The food was absolutely fine and the staff friendly. We have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rampikino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Called in last week after a wintery wet and wild walk around lady bower dam. We were all starving and ordered steak & kidney pies, and steaks.
Food came quickly, was well presented and very tasty.
Will definitely visit this inn again

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Suzysue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

As we live not too far away from this pub/restaurant we have been frequenting the restaurant for the past 4-5yrs.
. During all this time we have never had any recognition of familiarity or a welcoming face behind the bar...the food is very good and plentiful and the waiting on staff are much nicer. What a shame the bar staff are pretty miserable and unfriendly. This pub could do much better with a friendly greeting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
731 reviews
3.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range: $106 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing