We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“It was fine”
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed here as we were looking for a dog friendly place. Dogs are allowed in your room but they are not allowed in bar or restaurant when food is being served - nor are they allowed to be left in your room when you go to eat. Does mean that on a hot sunny day, your pet will have to stay in the car. There is outside seating but it is situated between the kitchens and the busy main road so is not a pleasant place to sit.

In contrast to the noisy road, however, you can walk direct from the hotel car park to the reservoir and then walk for as far as you want.

The rooms are ok. They provide tea and coffee making facilities. The staff are all courteous and polite. Food was plentiful, wine was very reasonably priced - the restaurant was packed both nights at the weekend.

all in all - I feel it was ok for what it was. Negative was lack of nice beer garden space away from traffic and kitchen noise.

  • Liked — ability to walk straight from inn to reservoir without going on main roads
  • Disliked — noise, lack of relaxing outdoor seating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    107
    30
    26
    4
See reviews for
60
168
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DERBYSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Originally myself and partner decided to walk around the ladybower res, and before we knew it, it was 9pm we were starving so decided to head here for food.

once we arrived we asked about staying the night in the hotel as i felt to tired to drive back, we were asked about what room we would like and soon was shown a double room-

BEDROOM+]
this bedroom was really quaint- duvet cover and curtains were floral- there was also a flat screen tv,
even bottled water, free coffee, tea and hot chocolate with kettle and cups.
bathroom with bath, toilet and toiletries(nice touch)

FOOD:
Was absolutely gorgous the night we arrived we had a sandwich with salad, and a bottle of wine at a reasonable cost.
the breakfast was either a continental or a full english -was great.
free juices etc, cereals,fruit, and yoghurt.toast etc

OVERALL I WOULD DEFINATEY VISIT THIS HOTEL AGAIN CANT WAIT FOR MY NEXT STAY!!

X

  • Liked — The Friendly Staff, Great Location , Food And The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABYDEE4237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in this well managed traditional inn that serves good portions of great food .Rooms are reasonably comfortable and the inn is well located for walkers in this pretty part of the Peak District.

  • Liked — Good food
  • Disliked — Some noise through bedroom walls
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Fantastic place to stay.Room spotlessly clean.Room had additional door straight outside to car- would be ideal for disabled guest.Think 3 rooms were like this.Rooms at back of the pub -so never distrubed by any noise.Pub always busy which is a good sign.Residents guaranteed a table at night and had own resident eating area.Meals were good value and good portions.Staff very friendly.Ideal if you want to go walking around ladybower reservoirs,derwent valley etc. Just out of the residents carpark is a path straight to the fields and beyond.Already considering when to go back!!

  • Liked — cleanliness,food, location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank celsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We were looking for a Peak District base to be able to see the area and what a gem we found with the Yorkshire Bridge Inn. Firstly, it is small dog friendly and used to walkers with hiking sticks and rucksacks. So this as you can imagine gave the place a warm friendly feeling. The Inn for the whole 4 days we stayed there was packed, so obviously popular with locals and daytrippers alike but if you are a resident, there is a permantly reserved table for you for breakfast, lunch or dinner regardless of whether you want it or not. Believe me you do. We ate there every night. Thank goodness for the multitude of walks on its door step to be able to walk off the breakfast! One of which was around the lake and towers where they practised for the original Dam Busters run (museum open on Sundays- brilliant) I cannot praise the staff highly enough who by the way spent most of the time polishing the wood work and brasses to make it probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed in. We have already booked again for early December to try out the Xmas dinners and some frosty walks. Very good value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoydonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Had a Friday/Saturday night weekend here. First impression as we approached and saw the top of the building covered in scaffolding didn't inspire us but this had absolutely no effect once we were inside.
As other reviewers say, the food is great, good helpings, really well cooked but without pretensions. The staff also cope well but really seem to care about the place and it's guests. The place was packed both nights with diners out for the evening and had a good atmosphere.
Rooms were nicely done and the situation is excellent if you like walking.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the weather!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towerridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Great place in a very scenic area. Room was very clean and tidy (yes, and flowery!) and the bathroom was fine. Nice and quiet and really good place to relax. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff and the bar is really nice and cosy, easy to loose track of time and drink too much in!
Food was fine, very 'Traditional English' but if you've been romping around the peaks its all you want really - dont expect Gordon Ramseys influence.

  • Liked — The bar
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
320 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
5.4 mi away
Snake Pass Inn
Snake Pass Inn
#3 of 4 in Bamford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing