We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Impressions!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gaviscone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Impressions!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having visited the Yorkshire Bridge Inn some years ago and at that time were met by the Proprietor with a friendly welcome and chat about the local area. On this occasion the very shabby reception area was "manned" by a lady who was obviously multi tasking including mopping the floors, serving breakfasts and acting as receptionist. Our request for a "nice room" was met with "we're busy"! A couple of times we visited the Reception with queries or requests and most of the time there was no-one available. Our wet towels were not replaced even though placed in the bath and the following day were only replaced with one bath towel instead of two. We had to seek out one of the bar staff to ask for additional towels but were advised there was no-one at reception that night to respond to our request. Thus whilst the Inn is a lovely place to visit with excellent rooms - the lack of staff and disappointing house-keeping lets the place down. The Proprietor needs to upgrade the Reception area and ensure that someone trained in hotel management or reception duties is employed to look after guests rather than expecting cleaners to multi-task. The food was decent "pub grub" and the breakfasts okay, however the smoked haddock was awful, and the poached eggs hard, along with tepid coffee. Our first impressions of the Yorkshire Bridge Inn were dire because of the poor Reception. However if the owner were to sort out the Reception and employ someone "front of house" with a cheery welcome and iron out the minor housekeeping anomalies - then this would be a lovely place to stay. I probably wouldn't stay again but only because the Inn is a little isolated for my tastes but excellent for walkers who don't want to travel around. Thus Mr Proprietor - you need to get your act together!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaviscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    99
    26
    24
    4
See reviews for
53
154
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

After staying for the weekend I thought I would write my first review on here as it totally ruined our stay .
Friday we arrived , taken to our room - NICE
Friday evening meal was lovely , and service with a smile from the girls - SMASHING
Saturday breakfast was great , and served again with a smile - MARVELLOUS
Saturday evening meal , although the pub was extreamley busy was served prompt and was tasty and served pleasently - TREMENDOUS
Sunday breakfast , the breakfast was nice again , however the way we were spoken to by the waitress was SO out of order . She made us feel awkward even when we asked for coffee . She slammed the plates down and when we asked for toast , it was as if we had asked for drugs with the look on her face . I know it was busy at breakfast , but all the other staff seemed to manage and treat people with a smile and care-TERRIBLE
Unfortunatley this experience has put us off from returning .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We called here for a post walk dinner, the bar was steady but not busy, the landlord or barman can't be sure, was serving another customer but failed to acknowledge me. He then preceded to serve some locals out of turn, in my opinion before unceremoniously asking who was next, surely you can keep tabs of a quiet bar? We ordered drinks, a wine & a local bitter, both excellent & well kept. We suggested a tab as we'd like food to be told that we'd have to leave a card behind the bar, a practice I dislike wholeheartedly, so we paid cash. We sat down & looked at the menu, which for a country pub with this potential was a little uninspiring, I dibbed for steak & kidney pie, the wife a spinach cannelloni. The chips served with the pie were a bought in product, so disappointed there, the pie was microwaved which affected the pastry, but otherwise very tasty, the cannelloni was a lasagne, over sauced, but again tasty. Both meals arrived in good time & the service was ok. I fancied a desert so plumbed for a bakewell pudding which was again over microwaved affecting the pastry!
There are things here that are great & things that let the place down, don't treat locals any different from other visitors, we are all customers & I'm always dubious when asked "was that alright?" Like they're expecting complaints?

This could be a gem if the welcome was better & the food all fresh !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reaps72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to the Yorkshire bridge for tea with my partner and kids.The beer I had was Bradfield brewery bombs gone great drink. The food was a good standard and well worth the money. The staff was friendly too. Only down side for me is if you want a tab opening you have to leave your card behind the bar. Over all had a good time and meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_wall134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is review of the pub, food and drinking areas. I havent stayed here overnight.

I have heard many people rave about this place and was looking forward to trying it myself. It is a nice pub with outdoor seating and a conservatory which was quite cool even on a hot day. The drinks are well priced here, the food is overpriced though. My main course was average and the portion size was not that big. I had lasagne with a slice of garlic bread and chips. Nothing to write home about. The staff got an order wrong and one of our party had to take his meal back. We waited ages for deserts and they were very small in portion size and poor value for money.

I doubt ill go back and feel this place is vastly overrated and overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just had a lovely two night stay in the Yorkshire Bridge, the rooms matched our expectations, spotlessly clean, high standards of decoration throughout and very comfortable. Great breakfast too.
Over the last few years we have had many bar meals in the pub, we have always been highly satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food, we have always had good service and it’s a firm favourite of ours. We managed two more visits whilst we stayed!
It’s a great place in a great location and we will certainly be back for the bar meals and no doubt one day to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyinRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had lunch here - food was good but not cheap, with an emphasis on locally sourced produce. Nice atmosphere, small beer garden which was welcome as the weather was glorious. Specials board with a range of hot & cold foods as well as an extensive menu.
Smallish car park, so can be difficult to park at busy times

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportymeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#3 of 5 in Bamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Property: The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing