We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is review of the pub, food and drinking areas. I havent stayed here overnight.

I have heard many people rave about this place and was looking forward to trying it myself. It is a nice pub with outdoor seating and a conservatory which was quite cool even on a hot day. The drinks are well priced here, the food is overpriced though. My main course was average and the portion size was not that big. I had lasagne with a slice of garlic bread and chips. Nothing to write home about. The staff got an order wrong and one of our party had to take his meal back. We waited ages for deserts and they were very small in portion size and poor value for money.

I doubt ill go back and feel this place is vastly overrated and overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rich2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 351 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just had a lovely two night stay in the Yorkshire Bridge, the rooms matched our expectations, spotlessly clean, high standards of decoration throughout and very comfortable. Great breakfast too.
Over the last few years we have had many bar meals in the pub, we have always been highly satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food, we have always had good service and it’s a firm favourite of ours. We managed two more visits whilst we stayed!
It’s a great place in a great location and we will certainly be back for the bar meals and no doubt one day to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyinRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had lunch here - food was good but not cheap, with an emphasis on locally sourced produce. Nice atmosphere, small beer garden which was welcome as the weather was glorious. Specials board with a range of hot & cold foods as well as an extensive menu.
Smallish car park, so can be difficult to park at busy times

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sportymeDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I do like the Yorkshire Bridge. We are regulars and like to sit by the fire for a cosy, relaxed atmosphere. However, they put the prices up a while ago and we feel that the standard of food has unfortunately not met our expectations on the last few visits. Hopefully this will improve as this is a lovely, traditional pub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WhatsWithCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We focused a trip around Ladybower reservoir and wanted just a single Saturday stay B&B. Paid £90 for B&B 13th April booked just 4 days before arriving, so apparently got a slightly reduced rate.

We turned up early Saturday morning and thought we'd chance our arm using the facilities and parking the car up early, the lady we met was lovely and this was no problem, started chatting about walks and ended up leaving with a borrowed book and more ideas for a grand day. The room provided just what we needed, a comfy bed and a bath to soak away the days walking with a cuppa. You automatically have a table booked for an evening meal if your staying and have table service for drinks etc. The meals are big and very tasty, even after a days walking I managed only a main course, no desert. Mains ranged £10-12, steaks £15ish. Smashing local beers, wine list isn't too expensive, whites generally £15-20 a bottle. Loved the feel and atmosphere of the pub.

If you're looking for a big breakfast to start the day off, welcome! Good full English available, and then all the extra normal adage (cereals, fruit, toast, yogurt etc). Great Breakfast.

I've rated excellent because nothing was disappointing, I felt we got value for money and everything was better than good. Not sure how the stay could have been better.

One tip - close the ensuite bathroom door before you go to sleep, as when the wind gets up during the night, you hear the draft excluder fan knocking. Door shut = problem solved (room5).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wonderful apartment run by the Yorkshire Bridge Inn, in the former pump house to the Ladybower resevoir. A great location to base our holiday hiking in the peak district. They have three apartments here in the old pump house and we were in the two bed "Bridge Park". It has two double beds, ensuite to one bedroom and then a separate bathroom next to the other. Apartment is large ,thoughtfully furnished and the kitchen is fully equiped. Nice touches like the welcome hamper with Bakewell Pudding, handmade chocolates,biscuits, local bread, flowers, milk, tea and coffee....plus the kids loved the Icecream. There is also secure WiFi so all those Ipads and gadget etc that we seem to have can be used .

Then there's the pub just over the road, staff were lovely and the food was good, although in huge portions, so watch the waist line.

We would totally recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bennemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely place to enjoy a weekend lunch out at a pleasant pub with some good beers on tap.

Menu is varied and there's something for everyone. Be prepared for a large portion with lots of veg/salad on the side! Good value for money to say the least.

They do smaller options on some of their most popular dishes as well though so if you want to keep a little room for pudding .....

It gets very busy at weekends, but if you pop in close to the end of service you can generally always get a table.

Not stayed here as we live just down the road!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
2.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
730 reviews
3.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range: $105 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing