We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just do it.”
Review of Derwent Cycle Hire

Derwent Cycle Hire
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just do it.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

You won't regret this jaunt out to Ladybower. The scenery is fantastic and the service excellent. The chaps in the bike hire place are really very helpful and will accommodate all sizes, adults and kids. If you're not sure - just do it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Southendian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good service but expensive”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We got here as a group of 4 adults and a little on, after several years of visiting Ladybower we tried the cycle hire place.
The service started off quite bad, as my minimum of two hours went into closing time which set the guy behind the counter off, into some sort of bad mood, and still had to pay full price!
Rode around for about an hour but got better service on return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank junade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A cracking little cycle hire place up the Derwent. My boyfriend and I decided to try out this little cycle hire. The bloke hiring the bikes were very helpful and chatty. we left our car and spend the next 3 hours cycling arounf the dams. A great day out. Highly recommend

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J0WHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just like ridin' a bike?”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hired 3 cycles for one adult and two young children (aged 7 & 8) plus a mobility scooter. Service was amazing as I hadn't ridden a bike for several decades, and wasn't sure how I would get on, but we were allowed to have a practise pedal around the car park before any money exchanged hands. One of the suggested routes was ideal for young children as it is off road. Be careful when taking the off road route as the map I was given was not very clear as to where the 'start' is. The pathway is signposted to the east tower of the Derwent Dam. Do not take this route as it is near impossible with a mobility scooter! Continue as the road bends around and goes the opposite way from the dam and take the first 'real' road on the left. A spectacular and safe cycle route, good bikes, and excellent value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyScott365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Top marks”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just turned up on the day and was able to hire two very good bikes and helmets.
Very friendly staff provided a map and advice and we really enjoyed our ride around the reservoirs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwent Cycle Hire also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Derwent Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing