We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with loads of character!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bamford, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cesca B
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with loads of character!”
Reviewed April 26, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I stayed here in December last year for a little country break, it was extremely festive and so nice to be so well looked after in the middle of the countryside. The cottage has been renovated so nicely, with no shortage of character or space I would highly recommend a visit. Planning on heading back already in the summer!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Many thanks Cesca for your kind review , we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel-Lo...
1 review
“Stunning!”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just wonderful. We came as a group for a catch-up just before Christmas and it was amazing - cosy and very well-appointed, and the local scenery is beautiful. Very much recommended for long walks to blow away the cobwebs!
(A tip if you're travelling via public transport - it actually worked out being more economical to get the train into Sheffield itself, then get an Uber into the Peaks, rather than trying to get off at the nearest train station of Bamford and using a local taxi firm).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words Rachel, we're really glad you enjoyed your weekend.
Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanH1923
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful property in a beautiful countryside location - perfect for walking and cycling.”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This is a lovely traditional stone property with great views of the surrounding countryside. It is perfectly placed for walks straight out the door and there are plenty of cycling options too.
The Barn oozes rustic charm and was simply a delightful place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Thank you Alan for your lovely review, we'll hopefully see you here again soon, maybe mountain bikes next time .
Thanks again
P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiepenr...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful guesthouse, relaxing and perfect location”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I recently stayed at this guesthouse for the weekend and had an amazing stay which felt much longer than 2 nights. It is in a great remote/quiet/relaxing location, however has close transport links whether by train or car.

The house is absolutely beautiful with an amazing mezzanine floor with a log fire which makes it feel so open, yet cosy. It was perfectly equipped which enabled us to cook our meals at the house with no problems.

For the whole weekend, we need not need to drive anywhere. We were able to do a 6 hour walk directly from the house on one day, and on the other walked into the nearby village and round the reservoir - which was perfect.

The owners of the guesthouse were around to help us when we had questions and provide advice. They were also incredibly friendly.

Overall, we had a fantastic, relaxing stay and I would definitely plan to go back in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks for your review Katie , it's very rewarding to hear that you had a good weekend and enjoyed The Barn and it's surroundings.
We'll hopefully see you again soon
P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guybowden...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning character filled barn in a great location”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We went for a weekend break and the barn was absolutely perfect. You can easily walk into the beautiful surrounding countryside right from the house. We walked to high above the Ladybower reservoir which provided stunning views and a good testing walk! After the walk being able to catch some sun in the courtyard before retiring back in front of the fire was great! We hope to be back at the barn again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks Guy , it was a pleasure to meet you and your friends. I'm glad you enjoyed the walk & I understand you were all in bed early that night.
Thanks again
P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verity I
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My friends and I rented out this gorgeous barn conversation for a long weekend at the beginning of April and it didn’t disappoint! Surrounded by rolling hills scattered with lambs it was relaxing and idealistic. The bedrooms are a great size, both with their own en suites and the open communal space made it great for cosy nights in by the fire with home cooked food made in the tasteful kitchen. On the doorstep are beautiful walks up and over the moors, and low bradfield is within walking distance which was perfect for a pub lunch on Sunday. It was a fantastic weekend and would strongly recommend it for those wishing to spend some time walking/cycling around the amazing scenery!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks Verity for taking the time to review The Barn. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather improved for your weekend.
The lambs have got their jackets off now and they're all enjoying the sunshine. Hope to see you again soon
P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBull12...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Peak District getaway”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The location is phenomenal and as the description mentions, some of the Peak Districts best walks are available from the front door including walks to / along the many reservoirs of the Peak District, ideal for walking groups! The barn itself is immaculately kept and has everything you need to cater for the group, including the small but invaluable items like salt and pepper so you don't need to worry about the small things but can focus of enjoying your time there. The rooms are remarkably comfortable and the mezzanine living space is perfect to relax in after a long day walking/cycling/exploring. We will definitely be back to visit again.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2018
Many thanks Oli for your kind review, we'll hopefully see you back again soon.
P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing