We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“evening out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snake Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snake Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“evening out”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Brilliant food, peaceful atmosphere, good ale. A good venue for all the family youngsters welcome, small portions for children or the elderly or anyone with a small appetite. Now under new management, and is on the up but a work in progress.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks! We're working really hard to make sure everything is improving at a rapid rate, to ensure people get the best experience possible, every time. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    103
    23
    21
    39
See reviews for
65
191
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent a few hours visiting this lovely area and decided to call at The Snake Inn for some lunch and a drink. We ordered two mushroom soups (very nice) one chili jacket potato (ok) and one ham sandwich (with green mould on the bread) the lady was very apologetic and suggested we might like our money back for the food, which we accepted, she returned to our table with exactly the cost of the mouldy sandwich £4.45. If she had offered at least a complimentary drink for our trouble I wouldn't have written this review, I feel cheated. Give this place a miss.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I'm really sorry to hear about this experience. Having recently taken over, we're working very closely with a new chef, and with the staff to try improve customer experience. If you're ever in the area, it'd be lovely if you'd give us another chance before writing us off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The surrounding location of snake pass is lovely. Really Gorgeous views. The snake pass inn however, puts a real downer on the whole thing.

From the get go the atmosphere was dull and unwelcoming.

No smiles, ugly decorating.. Would prefer to go without eating then hand them my money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG-07xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hi, I'm really sorry you had a bad experience with us. There's been a change in management, and a change in chef. I'd love to try and make a mends on any ill feeling caused, if you're ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I only stayed for 1 night as we had a gift voucher... After we found the hotel!! which did not relate to the address on the coupon we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellant. We also had our evening meal here which again was very good.. huge portions. There are walks from the hotel and lovely views.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2. A large room nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend away at this friendly Inn. We loved the history of the Inn, with plenty of pictures and write ups on the walls around the bar area! Our room was lovely and comfortable with all we required and plenty of storage. It was lovely to sit outside and have a drink, we even ate outside one evening. The food was lovely pub food with large portions. We were happy to wait for the food when it was busy, after all, it was a relaxing weekend away!! The pace was nice and relaxed and it was always service with a smile! The staff were really friendly and helpful and to be honest really made the weekend for us! Thank you Mandy, Lisa, Laura and Rich!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was a little put off when I arrived as the Inn appeared somewhat ‘down at heel’ - a look not helped by the old and faded artificial flowers in the beds by the main doors! But I was soon won over by the friendly welcome given by the staff and the fuss they made of my elderly Jack Russell terrier, Jamie.
We were given apartment 11 ( upstairs in the annex) Our rooms were small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was no shower but the bath was great with plenty of hot water. The night we arrived there was a terrific storm and as a consequence the TV signal was lost several times. There is no mobile phone signal in the area which can be a problem. The pub itself seemed friendly - a good traditional Inn. Breakfast was good and I left well set up for a days walking in the wonderful surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our children paid for this as a Christmas gift, room 13 outside was our first room, kettle needed replacing or some sterodent to clean it, toilet seat was broken,shower door would not stay shut & I am a large guy but everytime I turned around door opened, shower tray did not empty for at least ten minutes.
There was a couple of guys in the room above who obviously had had a drink it being a lovelly pub, decent pint, but everytime they visited toilet you could hear every step.
Felt sorry for staff next day chef did not turn in until late, however they did brilliant in providing a lovelly full english breakfast.
2nd room slightly better room 14 however following a shower over bath water did not disappear for twenty minutes, when water let out of sink it filled bath with water so obviously a problem with the drains. Next day following heavy rainfall found rain beetle in bath and dirty water, drains smelt hotel needs to have these checked over I would suggest. Again kettle needed a good clean.
I would confirm that the full english breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I would guess rooms in house are better than outside, but reason given to us for us having an outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
5.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
157 reviews
3.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
14.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snake Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snake Pass Inn

Property: Snake Pass Inn
Address: Snake Road | High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Snake Pass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snake Pass Inn is a famous landmark pub and watering hole near beautiful Ladybower in the Peak District in the spectacular High Peak area of Derbyshire and The Peak District National Park. With 12 letting bedrooms including a separate apartment block, the Inn offers affordable b&b accommodation in a unique setting amongst some of the finest scenery in the whole of England. Steep-sided, rolling hills, meandering streams, the wild moors of Bleaklow on the Pennine Way and the well known Ladybower, Howden and Derwent reservoirs are all close neighbours of the Snake Pass Inn - so a few days in this part of the world are sure to re-charge the batteries. And with fantastic walking and great scenery straight from the doorstep, you'll need your walking boots, cameras and sketch pads too...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Snake Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snake Pass Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing