We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody awful”
Review of Snake Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snake Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The surrounding location of snake pass is lovely. Really Gorgeous views. The snake pass inn however, puts a real downer on the whole thing.

From the get go the atmosphere was dull and unwelcoming.

No smiles, ugly decorating.. Would prefer to go without eating then hand them my money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HG-07xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S A, Manager at Snake Pass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hi, I'm really sorry you had a bad experience with us. There's been a change in management, and a change in chef. I'd love to try and make a mends on any ill feeling caused, if you're ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Snake Pass Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 392 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I only stayed for 1 night as we had a gift voucher... After we found the hotel!! which did not relate to the address on the coupon we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellant. We also had our evening meal here which again was very good.. huge portions. There are walks from the hotel and lovely views.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2. A large room nice and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend away at this friendly Inn. We loved the history of the Inn, with plenty of pictures and write ups on the walls around the bar area! Our room was lovely and comfortable with all we required and plenty of storage. It was lovely to sit outside and have a drink, we even ate outside one evening. The food was lovely pub food with large portions. We were happy to wait for the food when it was busy, after all, it was a relaxing weekend away!! The pace was nice and relaxed and it was always service with a smile! The staff were really friendly and helpful and to be honest really made the weekend for us! Thank you Mandy, Lisa, Laura and Rich!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was a little put off when I arrived as the Inn appeared somewhat ‘down at heel’ - a look not helped by the old and faded artificial flowers in the beds by the main doors! But I was soon won over by the friendly welcome given by the staff and the fuss they made of my elderly Jack Russell terrier, Jamie.
We were given apartment 11 ( upstairs in the annex) Our rooms were small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was no shower but the bath was great with plenty of hot water. The night we arrived there was a terrific storm and as a consequence the TV signal was lost several times. There is no mobile phone signal in the area which can be a problem. The pub itself seemed friendly - a good traditional Inn. Breakfast was good and I left well set up for a days walking in the wonderful surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our children paid for this as a Christmas gift, room 13 outside was our first room, kettle needed replacing or some sterodent to clean it, toilet seat was broken,shower door would not stay shut & I am a large guy but everytime I turned around door opened, shower tray did not empty for at least ten minutes.
There was a couple of guys in the room above who obviously had had a drink it being a lovelly pub, decent pint, but everytime they visited toilet you could hear every step.
Felt sorry for staff next day chef did not turn in until late, however they did brilliant in providing a lovelly full english breakfast.
2nd room slightly better room 14 however following a shower over bath water did not disappear for twenty minutes, when water let out of sink it filled bath with water so obviously a problem with the drains. Next day following heavy rainfall found rain beetle in bath and dirty water, drains smelt hotel needs to have these checked over I would suggest. Again kettle needed a good clean.
I would confirm that the full english breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I would guess rooms in house are better than outside, but reason given to us for us having an outsid...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If your us to old fashioned and like heritage then this 200 year old inn is for you, I would advise those wanting a 5* posh place to go else were! We booked last minute and they were more than happy to accommodate us, when we arrived we got greeted by the famous mandy who was lovely and realy does try to make you feel welcome. The room was yet to be redecorated but still it fitted well with the inn and its originality. The food was lovely and well priced again they tried there best to accommodate any requests.
The inn is situated on the roadside but is quiet at night and has a lovely woods opposite to go and explore, plenty of things around the area to do also.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose to stay here after having stopped for drinks a few times when travelling to and from Sheffield for Hospital appointments. It was a perfect overnight stay for our appointment at Sheffield Hallam because the road leads directly there without having to navigate Sheffield traffic.
The staff made you feel right at home and nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxed atmosphere and very comfortable accomodation. The stories that are written on the wall in the Hotel just add to the history and atmosphere of the place - I loved it!
I slept really well and the breakfast was really good too. This was quite a few weeks ago as I have not had chance to write a review before now!
Thank you so much to all staff for their very warm welcome, I am sure we will meet again!
Ellyn and Shirley Pyne

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
9.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
24.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
542 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
6.6 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snake Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snake Pass Inn

Address: Snake Road | High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snake Pass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snake Pass Inn is a famous landmark pub and watering hole near beautiful Ladybower in the Peak District in the spectacular High Peak area of Derbyshire and The Peak District National Park. With 12 letting bedrooms including a separate apartment block, the Inn offers affordable b&b accommodation in a unique setting amongst some of the finest scenery in the whole of England. Steep-sided, rolling hills, meandering streams, the wild moors of Bleaklow on the Pennine Way and the well known Ladybower, Howden and Derwent reservoirs are all close neighbours of the Snake Pass Inn - so a few days in this part of the world are sure to re-charge the batteries. And with fantastic walking and great scenery straight from the doorstep, you'll need your walking boots, cameras and sketch pads too...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snake Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snake Pass Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing