We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy ‘dog friendly’ Inn”
Review of Snake Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snake Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy ‘dog friendly’ Inn”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was a little put off when I arrived as the Inn appeared somewhat ‘down at heel’ - a look not helped by the old and faded artificial flowers in the beds by the main doors! But I was soon won over by the friendly welcome given by the staff and the fuss they made of my elderly Jack Russell terrier, Jamie.
We were given apartment 11 ( upstairs in the annex) Our rooms were small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was no shower but the bath was great with plenty of hot water. The night we arrived there was a terrific storm and as a consequence the TV signal was lost several times. There is no mobile phone signal in the area which can be a problem. The pub itself seemed friendly - a good traditional Inn. Breakfast was good and I left well set up for a days walking in the wonderful surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    104
    25
    24
    41
See reviews for
67
199
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our children paid for this as a Christmas gift, room 13 outside was our first room, kettle needed replacing or some sterodent to clean it, toilet seat was broken,shower door would not stay shut & I am a large guy but everytime I turned around door opened, shower tray did not empty for at least ten minutes.
There was a couple of guys in the room above who obviously had had a drink it being a lovelly pub, decent pint, but everytime they visited toilet you could hear every step.
Felt sorry for staff next day chef did not turn in until late, however they did brilliant in providing a lovelly full english breakfast.
2nd room slightly better room 14 however following a shower over bath water did not disappear for twenty minutes, when water let out of sink it filled bath with water so obviously a problem with the drains. Next day following heavy rainfall found rain beetle in bath and dirty water, drains smelt hotel needs to have these checked over I would suggest. Again kettle needed a good clean.
I would confirm that the full english breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I would guess rooms in house are better than outside, but reason given to us for us having an outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If your us to old fashioned and like heritage then this 200 year old inn is for you, I would advise those wanting a 5* posh place to go else were! We booked last minute and they were more than happy to accommodate us, when we arrived we got greeted by the famous mandy who was lovely and realy does try to make you feel welcome. The room was yet to be redecorated but still it fitted well with the inn and its originality. The food was lovely and well priced again they tried there best to accommodate any requests.
The inn is situated on the roadside but is quiet at night and has a lovely woods opposite to go and explore, plenty of things around the area to do also.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose to stay here after having stopped for drinks a few times when travelling to and from Sheffield for Hospital appointments. It was a perfect overnight stay for our appointment at Sheffield Hallam because the road leads directly there without having to navigate Sheffield traffic.
The staff made you feel right at home and nothing was too much trouble. Very relaxed atmosphere and very comfortable accomodation. The stories that are written on the wall in the Hotel just add to the history and atmosphere of the place - I loved it!
I slept really well and the breakfast was really good too. This was quite a few weeks ago as I have not had chance to write a review before now!
Thank you so much to all staff for their very warm welcome, I am sure we will meet again!
Ellyn and Shirley Pyne

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Quite surprised by the negative reviews as this is an old coaching inn, not a modern 5-star resort. Our room was basic but comfy and spacious and we were checked in with no delay by friendly staff. The food was fine for pub grub and the portions were more than sufficient, they tweaked my order without any problems when I asked for something slightly different from what was on the menu. We were lucky and had gorgeous weather, so ate outside enjoying the stunning views of the valley. The only problem was that breakfast didn't start until 8.30 a.m. and then took nearly an hour to arrive because they had to start cooking for everyone at once, which isn't great if you need to be on your way early. It would be a good idea to offer people the chance to place their orders the night before then they could start getting it ready earlier. When it did arrive, though, it was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed here for one night with my partner as we were given a groupon voucher for £39. wish we hadnt bothered! the room was one of the ones yet to be refurbished - i was expecting some dodgy decor, which definately appeared - yellow bathroom, textured walls hideous carpet etc but also the place just wasnt very clean. in the bedroom we found 2 random socks and a baseball cap, and when we opened the wardrobe ended up coughing because of the dust. the kettle provided was manky inside and didnt have an automatic cut off, you had to unplug it. another 'quirk' was that the bathroom door didnt actually close due to shoddy workmanship on the wood. also the rooms got really cold - despite it being near 16 degrees outside, inside we had a blanket on the bed and a heater in the bedroom on for hours!

the good points: hot water, tea and coffee provided, and leaflets of the peak district.

the room was number 14, overlooked by the outside seating and next to the road. also we heard the people upstairs cleary moving around and talking, and were woken up by them at about 7 in the morning. not my idea of fun! also the mattress on the bed was really uncomfortable, springs felt everywhere and so had a bad nights sleep.

we ate in the restaurant which was a mistake. both had steak pie and chips, both were overcooked and were cleary not made on site, reheated. could have made something better (or reheated it better!) at home. the onion rings were again overcooked, garlic bread was very nice, as was the ice cream we had after, but the sticky toffee pudding was swimming in syrup - fell apart when trying to eat it! this meal with one coke cost £22!! rip off. while we were there an elderly woman told the waitress that her chicken was rubbery and inedible, so she got a refund and wisely refused the offer of something free off the menu.

if i was given the chance to stay there again for free, we would stay at home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1985ldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped here a couple of weeks ago on a Sunday Lunchtime (12.05.13). The initial omens on entering the building were not good. The temperature had been quite low all day and it appeared that the front door had been left open since the start of business because it was absolutely freezing inside the pub....not exactly a warm welcome. However, since we had arranged a rendezvous with friends at the location we had no option but to remain. To pass the time and satisfy some hunger pangs we decided to order some simple food; beef and chicken rolls and some soup.

Unfortunately it took around 45 minutes for the food to arrive and it would appear that this is fairly typical with this restaurant at the current moment. Although there were a few customers it was not a particularly busy time when we visited. As other reviews indicate there were no apologies for the length of time taken to serve up the food, which perhaps suggests that the members of staff are run off their feet. When the food did arrive, it was not particularly appetising. The meat provided was in the form of cheap pre packaged supermarket fare and the rolls were utterly bland and lacking in any quality. After the wait we had endured this added insult to injury. We would not be in a hurry to return,and for the moment I'd suggest you steer clear.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
8.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
531 reviews
5.6 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snake Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snake Pass Inn

Property: Snake Pass Inn
Address: Snake Road | High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 0BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snake Pass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snake Pass Inn is a famous landmark pub and watering hole near beautiful Ladybower in the Peak District in the spectacular High Peak area of Derbyshire and The Peak District National Park. With 12 letting bedrooms including a separate apartment block, the Inn offers affordable b&b accommodation in a unique setting amongst some of the finest scenery in the whole of England. Steep-sided, rolling hills, meandering streams, the wild moors of Bleaklow on the Pennine Way and the well known Ladybower, Howden and Derwent reservoirs are all close neighbours of the Snake Pass Inn - so a few days in this part of the world are sure to re-charge the batteries. And with fantastic walking and great scenery straight from the doorstep, you'll need your walking boots, cameras and sketch pads too...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Snake Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snake Pass Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing