We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hazel M
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Warm welcome from Maria. Lovely thoughtful welcome pack. Cottage is absolutely fabulous, loved it quirkiness.
Close to town centre and bus station. Lovely walks around the area, which both myself and my dog enjoyed.
Thoroughly enjoyed my fortnight at this beautiful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's quirkiness
Liked least: Entrance to bedroom, (that only because I thought I needed to answer) just found it strange
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Hi
Thanks so much for adding the review, really appreciated
Glad you both enjoyed your stay at Pegges and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harvey89
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow Factor”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful place to stay. The cottage is the most beautiful one that we have ever stayed in, it has everything you need and more. We were made to feel welcome by Maria as soon as we arrived, and the welcome pack of wine, chocolates and biscuits was very much appreciated. We will definitely come back and stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Hi
Thank you so much for the writing the review, really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussietra...
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful character cottage”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

excellent cottage, modern convenience in a good location,in the most amazing historical cottage. The personalized attention from the owners was much appreciated, meet and greeting, advice as to what to do and see was great, as were the welcoming goodies.
Highly recommend, especially if you like a bit of history and something a bit different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness and facilities
Liked least: a bit of traffic noise. Would not be suitable with mobility issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
Hi
Thank you so much for writing the review, really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much and be sure to visit us again when you next come over to England.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcolm s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I would like to say what a great place to stay. Very cosy everything we needed. Well equipped close to town and lots of things to do and see near by. Dove dale is a must as my partner Carol and our poddle (Ronnie) made the climb up one of the peaks What a view from up there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and warm
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to add the review, very much appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay at 'Pegges' and the surrounding areas such as Dove dale - a beautiful part of the world!
Look forward to you staying with us again.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suze-2905
1 review
“Perfect cottage and perfect hosts”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Booked here for a surprise weekend for my Boyfriends 30th birthday. The cottage is beautiful and in the perfect location for visiting the Peak District and Alton Towers. Maria was so brilliant before hand in getting me champagne to have on our arrival and recommending the Lamplight restaurant for a special meal. The wine and biscuits were also a welcome surprise. Standards are just so high and Maria makes you feel like an old friend rather than paying guest. This is the five star of the self catering cottage world!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2015
Hi
Many thanks for your review, very much appreciated. So glad that you're birthday celebrations went to plan, hope you return for your next! Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsull
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Pegges Almshouse. Lovely, cosy and romantic cottage. Location is perfect. Would have no problem in recommending this cottage. Will be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Hi
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Pegges' and that you will be returning.
Thank you for taking the time to add the review, much appreciated.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow factor”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Not enough room here to do justice. We have lots of breaks all over the country and would have to say that our stay at Pegge's Cottage was the best yet. Apart from the absolute charm of the place, the standard of comfort, equipment, care and helpfulness exceeded our highest expectations.
We actually fell in love with this place as soon as our feet passed the threshold and as we saw more it just got better and better. Our only regret was at having to leave but that was eased by the fact that we know that we'll be returning - how couldn't we.
Maria and her husband, the owners, was so helpful, accommodating and thoughtful that they deserve the best accolade possible. To say highly recommended would be an understatement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too much to mention
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2015
Hi
Thank you so much for adding the review and your kind words, makes it all worthwhile!
Look forward to seeing you again at Pegges'
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing