We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
53 reviews | other travelers have booked this property
Cottage 1 Bedroom 1 Bathroom Sleeps 2 Ask about pets Save
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
Ashbourne's famous Shrovetide Football match held every Shrove Tuesday and Ash Wednesday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarah W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
Perfect Honeymoon

Me and my husband stayed here for a week as our honeymoon. We absolutely loved the cottage and the location was great too! It is so quaint and quirky, we wished that we had longer there! we would definitely return here again. Thank you for the gift and cake too, was delicious.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Its cosyness
Liked least: parking, but there was a good solution
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2014
Hi
Many thanks for adding the review and so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at the cottage.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy2375
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
A lovely, cosy cottage in a good location

We stayed for 3 nights recently. The cottage was cosy, warm, well decorated throughout and in a good location. We had wine and chocolates waiting for us on our arrival which was a welcome touch. The kitchen and bathroom are well stocked and modern. The rest of the cottage is presented really nicely. There are some lovely shops and cafés in Ashbourne. We also cycled the Tissington trail which starts very close to the cottage and we also went to Dovedale. There was secure storage for our bikes at the cottage. The only minor issue was how squeaky the bed was which woke my partner when either one of us moved in the night.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for adding the review and really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you, also for bringing the bed issue to our attention, this has been rectified today.
Look forward to seeing you again,
Kind regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2013
Hi
Thank you so much for the review and for recommending us, really appreciated. Really look forward to you staying again and Merry Christmas!
Kind Regards Maria and Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kellyicke...
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
What an amazing cottage. Thank you Maria and Ian x

From the moment we were greeted by Maria on arrival our experience of pegges almshouse was amazing. The pictures do not do it justice and on walking in the front door I was wowed. The champagne chocolates and cake were an amazing arrival gift and every attention to detail was met as if we were staying in a 5 star hotel.

The location could not be better just a few minutes to the shops bars and restaurants. We ate in the flowerpot cafe both morning for breakfast and coffee and ate in the bowling green pub and coach and horses in Ashbourne and would recommend both.

We took a lovely walk to tissington down the tissington trail on Saturday and drove to Harrington for some Stilton on Sunday followed by dovedale. The location to lots of beautiful villages and tourist attractions is perfect and there is plenty to do on your door step.

All I can say is that I was so sad to leave and would like to thank you so much for letting us share your amazing cottage. You should be extremely proud of this little gem and what you have created.

Kelly & Scott Ashley x

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
Hi, thanks so much for adding the review. So pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon/ birthday stay. Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajord100
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Can't fault this cottage, beautiful, quaint and romantic, in a fantastic setting.

We booked a weekend away at pegges on a whim, hoping for a bit of relaxation and some time away from the stresses of daily life, and we're so glad we did. Everything was fantastic, from the initial communication with the owners, to the cake and wine ready for our arrival, to the beautifully thought out decoration and the AMAZING shower (really...its something else.) The cottage is quaint and cosy, with plentiful character, but with plenty of modern comforts- the perfect mix. We enjoyed some gorgeous walks in the local countryside,and came back feeling truly rested and restored. Can't praise it highly enough!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
Hi, thank you for the review, much appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay - look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeeHobbit...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Perfect, idyllic cottage for a short break.

You couldn't find a more charming place to spend a couple of days.
Beautifully decorated and comfortable cottage.
Service received was first class.
Only downside would have to be the lack I sound proofing particularly in the bedroom and the noisy neighbour and her yapping dog.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to add the review, really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Regarding your points raised about the dog, it appears that the girl staying next door, was looking after a relatives dog and this unfortunately coincided with your stay.
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
PERFECT COMFY COSY RETREAT IN THE HEART OF PEAKS

Stayed here for a weekend break, but it wasn't long enough, perfect location for discovering some areas of the peaks. The cottage was really cosy, fabulous bathroom and so quaint absolutely loved it here and the bedroom with the little walk-through dressing area was absolutely fab. It was clean and comfortable and Ian and Marie had thought of everything to make this place a cosy retreat at the end of a long days walking to come home too. Definitely will be back again to try out some more of the peaks fabulous walking and wouldnt hesitate to come back to this place. My partner wanted to go back straight away but the normal work etc gets in the way, so role on next year. The bottle of wine and the chocolate were a really nice touch to the start of our break.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything about this place there wasnt anything to dislike
Liked least: stay was not long enough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to add the review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully for longer!
Kind Regards Ian and Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.