We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of The Ketch

The Ketch
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We visited as a party of 20 ish. From booking to the end of the meal the staff and food were excellent! We pre ordered via email ensuring that no one forgot what they ordered! Options were good and Portions were massive.... And the quality was there too! Good wines friendly staff, good food and a lovely atmosphere, I just hope we weren't too noisy!!!!
Thankyou to all the staff at the ketch for a top evening!!!

Helpful?
Thank Liz and Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    47
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure of visiting The Ketch several times recently - steak night, pie night and sunday lunch. Each time has been a real treat. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food is wonderful and the prices are really reasonable. The place has a lovely modern yet traditional pub feel and it's always buzzing in atmosphere. The portion sizes are big enough to satisfy any appetite and the choices are varied and plentiful. I would recommend The Ketch for couples, family and friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ursula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sat night at the ketch ashbourne”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Food and drink top class, surroundings clean and warm, but service just let it down, felt they need to start turning customers away which I understand no one wants to do, as sat night service let them down, a lot of people seemed to be going to the bar asking when their meal or order would be arriving, it took three attempts to be given our table and another 35 mins to place the starter order! Fantastic meal when it arrived but feel they will become a failure of their own success by taking too many bookings that they cannot cope They will book again!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKetchKniveton, Owner at The Ketch, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate all feedback.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, and my sincere apologies about the Saturday night service, it wasn't up to our usual standards, unfortunately you caught us on a bad night.

I, as the owner normally run the front of house, staggering the orders and showing people to their table, unfortunately we we're two kitchen staff down, one(the other half) was stuck on the motorway after rugby, and the other was off ill. We also had a new member of bar staff on the bar, I should have been there guiding them etc but unfortunately I had to go into the kitchen to ensure meals we're served, and most meals came out in good time.

I apologise your table took three attempts, I'm the one who eventually sat you. Unfortunately a table that was booked in for 8pm turned up at 7.30 and weren't very happy that their table wasn't ready, this might of been who you saw going up to the bar and getting very cross and we're also sitting on your table! There table was ready at bang on 8pm for them, and this is why I stagger the bookings, so everyone doesn't arrive and want to order at the same time. Then another booking decided that they fancied your table, normally I'm running the front of house and would guide everyone to their correct table, I'm so sorry that we were seemed so un-organised on this evening.

I take on board your comment about turning people away, which after getting busier and busier week on week I have started doing, we're still a young business so we're trying to get the balance right, I would rather have 10 happy customers than 50 unhappy customers! Your comments are much appreciated and I hope that we see you at The Ketch soon!

Elli Leahy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak Night”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went last night for Steak Night (every Friday night - book so as not to be disappointed). Really busy and a great atmosphere. First time we've been for Steak Night but the food was great and plenty of it. Downside was that didn't leave enough for pud! Decent Ales and friendly and attentive staff.

Will have to check it out for Pie Night on a Wednesday and Burger Night on a Thursday. Puddings yet to be tasted but have high expectations.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak night”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Came here one friday for the steak night. Very reasonable prices @ £6. Good sized portion. Also lovely Sunday dinner. Would recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k123xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ketch also viewed

 

Been to The Ketch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing