We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service”

St John Street Gallery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Ashbourne
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Central European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: An award winning Café where the focus is on flavoursome, healthy food in a continental style. Food prepared on the premises where possible with high quality produce from leading local suppliers. A choice of quality coffees, a variety of 'bottomless' teas and alcoholic drinks complimented by delicious cakes. A wide range of soya, vegetarian and gluten free options available.A spacious Café with ample seating capacity that can easily accommodate small to medium groups. The separate mezzanine floor is ideal for meetings, workshops or just a friendly get together. The Gallery showcases some of the area’s most talented artists in relaxed and informal surroundings - an eclectic mixture of paintings, prints, sculpture, pottery, bronze and glassware on display.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Booked a table for lunch today but no reservation evident. Advised when ordering food that a number of items were not available. Ordered food and when drinks arrived were told that the chef was not in today and there would be a delay but there was no indication of just how long this was going to be. An hour later the food arrived but two dishes had to be returned because the food was not hot. Some time later it was returned, hot but on a cold plate. Food was quite nice but nothing special and the cheese was definitely not goats' cheese. We were offered a mince pie and cup of tea but as the car was on a timed parking spot, we could not stay. The manager still managed to charge us the full price for lunch. What a disappointing experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    2
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
192 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The café is above the art gallery, lovely location, but I think the charge for a sandwich at nearly £8 is a little on the steep side, I know that you get a very small side salad, but for a snack a little pricey, the service is very good and the cakes are lovely, pots of tea and plenty of choice, very busy on a dreary, wet Saturday lunch time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank morgieNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out in Ashbourne”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had an enjoyable lunch here. Loved the large upstairs windows, high ceiling, contemporary art and craft and the opportunity to chill out. Would recommend the beetroot and Sage Derby cheese salad. Good cakes and coffees. Will definitely go again the next time we're in Ashbourne.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picardy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Art”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went here to have coffee but had Breakfast instead which was fabulous. I had the Salmon and Scrambled eggs, my husband had Poached Egg with Spinach on a muffin and some of mine too as the portion was huge. This is a really lovely place to sit and soak up the atmosphere, but don't forget to take time to look downstairs at the artwork too. Wonderful friendly owners who appreciate taking time to chat to you and make your visit feel special..We will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at St John Street Gallery & Cafe, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for a lovely response. We appreciate the time you took to write a review for St John Street Gallery & Café. We always try to give our customers a memorable experience and a response like yours make it worthwhile. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real Ashbourne plus culture”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Friendly, light and airy. Home made food, wonderful building and enjoyable gallery. It has been a favourite of ours for quite a few years

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank villagedweller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St John Street Gallery & Cafe also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to St John Street Gallery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing