We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely weekend break”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just had a lovely weekend break at the station. Advice ring the owner david direct to book, as he offered us a room matching the online prices and you get his personal service.
The room we where offered was a four poster room, very large,clean with fresh white linen and fluffy white towels with robes. Bed a bit creeky but what can you expect with age (went well with the two aging bodys in it) not sure if a younger couple with abit more go in them though would have felt the same.
We ate both nights in the hotel, the food was excellent and not to expensive. The chef is very adventures with both the menu and presentation. David works hard to make your stay enjoyable and is very approachable! On our first evening our room was chilly, we made a call to reception and within minutes our heating was on.
Breakfast was very relaxing (nice to hear the local radio station) home from home, we don't eat black pudding so we asked for extra sausage and bacon instead, nothing too much trouble.
David has an open approach to any suggestions you may have as him and his wife are lovingly restoring and refurbishing the hotel slowly, a labour of love, which is apparently ongoing.
Me and my hubby will certainly return, very interested to see the progress.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackenzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, the whole team find it very rewarding to read a review such as this and realise that all their hard work is being appreciated. We are currently in the midst of a lot of updating and decorating and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon so you can view our changes.

Again thank you for the review.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Station Hotel for our men's walking weekend. It was very good, with a friendly personal welcome from the proprietor. Good location, good food. Excellent renovations over recent years, so that the original feel of the place comes through, but everything's up to date.

Room Tip: Top floor won't suit anyone with a walking difficulty. Ask for a room where the shower really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquesotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just come back from 2 nights on a wowcher deal - but you would never had known - the hotel isn't modern but it is vintage and quaint - our room was excellent - plenty of hot water and gorgeous views. The complimentary dressing gowns in the room were a nice touch. Yes we were near a church that rang bells but I don't hear that in urban Manchester anymore and the sound was very relaxing - loved it - our breakfast was continental but we knew that when we booked because we read the small print - the quality wasn't compromised though - gorgeous and set us up for the day - the location is perfect we hired a bike whilst we were there and rode 12 Km on the Tissington Trail - views were beautiful and the village of Tissington is not to be missed - we had one evening meal at the hotel which was excellent value for money and gorgeously presented - wasn't quite sure what to expect when I ordered the Pigeon breast starter as never tried it before but it was excellent. The included hour in the private hot tub was so romantic - loved it. And as for David the Manager - for the whole two days we were there we didn't see any other staff - he did everything- and always with a smile on his face and wanting to help us in anything we wanted. There must have been other staff behind the scenes but David was excellent. We sneaked a peek in the Four Poster room which was vacant with the open door whilst we were there - we may have been on a wowcher holiday but despite other reviews we were never made to feel like that - we will be definitely going back to pay full price and stay in the Four Poster room - cant wait. - thank you David for being so hospitable.

Room Tip: Four poster looked excellent but our own standard room was really good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My friend and I have just had our fourth stay (this time 3 nights) at the Station Hotel for our annual experience of Shrovetide. We always get allocated one of the four poster rooms although we pay the standard room price.The hotel is full of character as it's an old building with the decor and furnishing you would expect and yes, the hot water does take a while to come through - but once it does there's plenty of it. I've had two of the best and deepest baths of my life there, to warm up after a perishingly cold time following the ball at the Shrovetide games. The beds have lovely feather duvets and loads of pillows for a warm comfy night and tea/coffee/biscuit supplies are generous. I would agree with some reviewers that the lighting is a bit dim, and our showerhead was ready for descaling but I can't think of any real complaints. Breakfast is excellent and you can ask for any combination of what you want cooked how you want it. We had a 'light bite' evening meal this time too, which was very tasty and good value. David is friendly, laid back and subtly attentive, and a new member of staff this year, Nicci, was very proficient and friendly. We always bump into other people who come back each year so we're not the only habitual rebookers! I would recommend it but don't expect to have 'my' room at Shrovetide!

Room Tip: If you don't like high ceilings, four posters, chaises longues and dark furniture, book one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooz212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but we ate in the restaurant. We had a 3 course meal and I can honestly say that it was some of the best food I have had and very well presented! Definatly eat here as you will not regret it!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank venice438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The food here is absolutely outstanding! A real hidden gem. The hotel has quite an oldy worldy feel to it. But the food is very modern i cant reccomend it enough. We had three courses and everything was very well presented and great value for money. The service was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank nokomis1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I wanted to experience the Shrovetide Football so the location of the hotel is excellent. The hotel is old inside and out but it has a character that matches its décor. The room was quiet, comfortable and the plumbing worked well. Helpful staff. Everything was clean. Breakfast was good. I found the place to be quirky...like the town! I would stay again if in Ashbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a four-poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meltonian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
369 reviews
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
18.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $90 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing