We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely visit”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Were made very welcome on arrival and shown to very nice room which had a really comfortable bed.
Evening meal was exceptional, I had salmon whilst my partner had steak and they were both lovely. We had a live fire and the room was cosy. The owner was attentive and eager that you would enjoy your meal. In fact he was chatty and helpful, hard working and very attentive to his guests.
Short walk to town where we entered a quiz on the thursday night at the Horns pub and saw a live band on the friday night at another pub opposite. Lots of pubs doing meals.
We would definitely return. It is a great base to travel around the peak district and we even drove to Holmfirth (last of the summer wine) which was a 90 minutes drive with great views.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walesmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 341 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

just got back from a nights stay from a Groupon deal
DONT GO FOR IT
friendly welcome David a very pleasant chap good welcome and shown to room good space and comfy appearance
expected aged look given the age of the building creaky floor boards and a little tatty bathroom was what was expected and not really a big issue
Hard bed OK again not a big problem
COLD room OK a problem -reported room to a blank expression and realized given the age of the building and the fact on the top floor that nothing would be done or could be done
Big Problem came to check out and advised had a bill for £33 for 2 drinks and breakfast
paid for the dinner bed and breakfast was advised that this was just for the continental breakfast
checked groopon and did not state this and David did not raise this at the breakfast
why so much and why not informed David this has really let you down hence the poor review I do not want to do it as the meal was lovely but you really should be honest and a little more sensible with the charge come on £33 for 2 drinks and 2 breakfasts

Room Tip: warm one or try
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterevesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

It is unfortunate that you did not take your bill with you on check out as naturally one is always prepared for our welcome guests when they depart.

If you had taken your bill you would have been able to have told the truth on your trip advisor review, but never mind I will enlighten everyone for you. Your £33 was for extra courses at dinner, extra cooked breakfasts (continental was free) and drinks.

With respect to your cold room-well my expression is still blank as you told me and I quote "my room is warm but I might get cold later" what does one say to that!!!

I honestly feel that these voucher deals are not for you, please give us "honest" hoteliers a break, as when you are looking for something just in case it happens and it doesn't, and then decide that everything should be free and it isn't, well I will let our guests make a conclusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

we stayed here on the groupon deal, the hotel has plenty of character and David was very friendly. It was cold on the first evening but we put that down to arriving and settling!
Breakfast brilliant but fried was not included in deal (which we didn't realise) but it was well worth the money!
I would recommend up grading to four poster rooms as we had a peek and they were lovely, we weren't allowed to up grade after the first night so if you do want it make sure you do before you arrive! there was nothing wrong with our room though.
The town was lovely and the trail (although raining lightly) is right on their door step! so once parked no need to get car out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely town of Ashbourne. It was unfortunate that we could not upgrade you the second night as we only have 12 rooms there just wasn't the availability but hopefully you can have one next time you come to Ashbourne.

thank you
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Station Hotel on the 3rd of November 2013, we booked through Groupon, we were greeted by David who was pleasant and helpful.
I think there was a slight confusion with our room which I think worked out just great for us! David led us to our own anex flat/house it was huge!so nice and cosy and lovely inside with traditional decor and lovely modern bathrooms.
The dinner was great fab service and lots of space so it felt quite intimate in the dining area, the food was great with my partner saying it was the best steak he had ever had! and the wine was good.
The review below seems ridiculous they obviously know nothing about etiquette if they think it's bad to be asked about how you like your steak and by the looks of it were expecting the Ritz for £89.
We booked our own slot into the hot tub room which was nice I was worried we would have to share if it was a busy time, the hot tub was a really big luxurious one so a great perk to the hotel.
The station Hotel is in a great location and in easy walking distance from the Pubs, cafe's and shops of Ashbourne.
I would recommend the Station to couples of all ages and think it's a lovely romantic get away destination.

Room Tip: If you are wanting one of the grand four poster traditional rooms make sure you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are more than pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, and we are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the walks and Ashbourne. Thank you for your positive comments and we hope that you will visit us again.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A great building and the owner David was very friendly on arrival and throughout our stay. The room needed a bit of TLC but when you consider the age of the building it was fine for us. Our meal was very well presented and tasty, the pate was delicious and I had salmon and my husband had chicken, both really good. The eton mess was to die for. Well done chef. The whole atmosphere was really good and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunice38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your food as our restaurant was award an AA Rosette this year which we are naturally very proud of. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you return to Ashbourne.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Station Hotel and my boyfriend and I found it the worst place we've stayed at in the UK. On arrival we were greeted by an unhappy hotel owner, David who was not welcoming at all. David instantly told us that we missed our dinner (we booked on a Groupon including one nights dinner) and wasn't very happy about giving us dinner on our second night even though the Groupon deal did not specify. After a long journey up this is not how anyone would like to be greeted. We were then welcomed to a freezing cold room, with no heating on. This is unacceptable at any time of year, let alone November. In fact, we had to tell David to put the heating on every night which barely warmed up the room, so it was a freezing miserable stay for us. The dinner on the second night was of a very poor quality, and very basic etiquette such as questioning how we would like the steak cooked and being given a steak knife was not demonstrated. On the last morning of our stay, we arrived at breakfast just on time but were told when we eventually got served that hot food was no longer available - we really got the impression by this point that David was purposefully being difficult and did not want to make an effort.
We honestly cannot understand the positive reviews that this hotel has gained. My understanding is that deals such as Groupon are meant to encourage customers to return to the hotel, but this hotel stay has meant that we would never consider returning. Unless you are happy with poor customer service, poor food and ice-cold rooms, I would urge people to reconsider if they are thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hanrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

99.9% of our guests who are on a voucher understand what type of deal they have bought, unfortunately it seems that you did not: Dinner is on the first night unless previously arranged with myself. Breakfast has a healthy slot on a saturday morning of between 8am and 10am orders are not taken later than 10am, you were informed quite clearly about this.

Dinner, there were no complaints from you in the restaurant and an order for a steak is never and i mean never taken without me asking how you would like it cooked as chef would send it back.

With regards to your other complaints, we feel that you have really just jumped on the bandwagon here and decided to complain about everything. However, it also must be noted that you paid £89 for two night stay, continental breakfast both mornings, dinner on the first night (sorry second) and felt that you could behave anyway that you liked, enough said

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a one night stay in the hotel on the 8th November. The owner was really friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and very clean. The food was nice and there was plenty of drink to choose from the bar. We really enjoyed our stay and would return again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmac1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
358 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $100 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing