We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel -brilliant owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel -brilliant owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at The a Station Hotel from 24/10/2013 -26/10/2013 for our wedding anniversary. This hotel is large, beautiful and less than a minutes walk to the lovely town of Ashbourne. The hotel is as far from a chain hotel as possible, every room was different and quirky, we stayed in a 'normal room ' however I had a peek at the four poster beds rooms and they looking luxurious and stunning. Don't get me wrong, the bathroom is basic and the shower is not a power shower but the feel of the hotel is like a home from home.
We also had a very reasonably priced three course meal - the food was exquisite and I even tried new foods like pigeon. The service was professional yet comfortable and the host was more than welcoming.
We were warmly welcomed by James the chef and Dave the owner catered to every one of our needs with a genuine sense of care and he clearly has pride in his hotel.
As for Ashbourne, we would recommend The Horn pub where you have a pint, a warm real fire and a game of connect 4 or clue do. The Smiths Tavern was also very lovely and reasonably priced. We will be going back to the hotel and Ashbourne as I genuinely fell in love with it.

Room Tip: The four poster rooms looked exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    117
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
190
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked this as a spur of the moment Groupon trip for my husband's birthday. We had three nights with one evening meal included. David was there to greet us and show us to our room, and also very kindly took one of our cases up (2nd floor, no lift - so not suitable for those with mobility issues). The room was very spacious and clean, with TV and tea/coffee facilities. Large bathroom with shower over the bath. Plenty of hot water for a bath - the shower temperature fluctuated a bit. The rooms are furnished very well, some would find it 'old-fashioned', but we loved it. Personally, I did find the bed too hard, but that seems to be the case in most places I stay!

The food in the restaurant was AMAZING! Hubby had steak and I had a stuffed chicken breast, both were cooked to perfection. But the best bit of mine was the chicken jus - I wish I could have had a jug full of it! Desserts were divine. A very talented chef.

Our included breakfast was cereals, toast, yogurt and fruit, tea and coffee and juice. On the morning of my hubby's birthday we decided to have the full English as well, and it was very tasty.

All in all we had a really great stay, and would definitely go back, even without a Groupon deal. David is the perfect host, he was always available and ready to help, and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Has a meal here with about 20 friends and admit we were a bit surprised by the surroundings as we were expecting a lively pub/hotel atmosphere but found a very quiet, almost staid one. In fact we were the only ones eating here that night.

Nevertheless the food was very good, with some interesting options on the menu (I had a pigeon breast starter) and all very well presented and served.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_pingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, when we arrived we was met by the hotel owner David who introduced himself and then told us a little about the hotel. He also upgraded us to a four poster room which was great as the trip was a surprise for my girlfriend’s birthday and she loved it

The food was great and very reasonably priced.

Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just stayed for three nights at the Station Hotel and we were very happy. We were warmly greeted by David and shown to our room. It was lovely and spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The breakfasts were good. The meal on the first night was extremely good and very well presented. We ate out the other 2 nights as we like exploring the town and cultural experiences. Although the weather was wet, we managed to enjoy the time and spent it walking and sightseeing. (Recommend the cinema at Belper - a wonderful experience). Thanks for a good time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Enjoyed our 32nd wedding anniversary there. David was very attentive and made us very welcome. We stayed in the fourposters room which we found much to our liking.
Breakfast was something to look forward to. Welldone Station Hotel !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night which is good as a lot of accommodation have a minimum stay of 2 nights. The owner and staff were pleasant and friendly. Rooms are a little dated but very clean. There was a lot of choice for breskfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
20.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing