We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't have booked a nicer place to stay. Dave (the host) was sooooooooo lovely and helpful i personally can't praise the man up enough! :)
Old fashioned with a modern twist.
If we ever go to Alton towers again, this will be my first choice of hotels. (only 9 miles away)
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms make this hotel what it is. #14 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorwaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for writing a review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Station Hotel we do pride ourselves on our service and it is of the utmost importance to us that our guests enjoy their stay in our period hotel. We hope to see you both again in the future. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We cannot speak to highly of this hotel and our charming host David. The hotel was every thing we needed for our visit to the area. Our rooms more than adequate and a nice warm bath to relax after a tiring day. The food prepared for us by James was excellent. We recommend the Station Hotel for your visit.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us recently and would like to thank you for the time you have shown to leave your wonderful review. Our Chef James was indeed very pleased that you mentioned how much you enjoyed his food. Thank you, we hope very much to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with dinner on first night. A welcoming and excellent value experience. Friendly and accommodating. Large clean room and an enjoyable dinner with good choice. The hotel is ideally situated for walking to the Tissington trail and exploring Ashbourne town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Station Hotel. Thank you also for your recommendation we hope to see you again in the future should you return to Ashbourne. Thank you David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst travelling round the peak district. I cannot fault the experience at all. Our host was extremely attentive, and could not do enough to make our stay pleasant. The room was clean and well presented, and the food in the restaurant was amazing!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the food in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Whilst old fashioned there is a certain amount of charm. Owners working hard to give a warm welcome. Our bathroom was in process of being upgraded other bathrooms in our party really needed upgrading but sure management got this in hand. Breakfast freshly cooked and very nice. If modernisation continues worth giving it a go. Great central location

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyN58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it is true we are constantly updating the Hotel whilst trying to keep its period charm. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed with my Son on a motorcycling weekend and this Hotel was perfect for our needs. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was good value for money and the food in the restaurant a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

We are very pleased that you and your son had a good weekend and enjoyed the food in our new restaurant. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we had a few rooms as there was a number of us. They were all very clean though perhaps some modernisation is needed to some of the bathrooms..

I would also highly recommend eating there in the evening - the food is very good, much better than some of the local restaurants!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the food in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
324 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $122 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing