We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Four couples used this as a base for day trips around the peaks over Easter. Easy to find and well located with the town centre being only a five minute walk.

Our bedroom was clean and tidy, nicely appointed. Bathroom was clean and tidy although some updating wouldn't go amiss. WIFI didn't reach our room which could be fixed with a bridging unit, but worked well downstairs.

The hosts were excellent, pre dinner drinks were always taken in the bar before moving onto restaurants in Ashbourne.

Breakfast was also excellent and our requests for particular items were fulfilled.

Secure off street parking was appreciated as we were on motorbikes.

Would definitely use it again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ymfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. The Station Hotel is indeed very central to all the main tourist attractions in the Peak District. Luckily the weather was not too bad that weekend for travelling around on your motorbikes. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and from the 1st May the Station Hotel is opening its own restaurant to give a wonderful dining experience for Ashbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely rooms and very friendly staff.
We have help ith restaurant recommendations which was very much appreciated.
The only small gripe was that the large room we booked advertises wine & hot tub, which we didn't get even after asking a few times.
Apparently this was because we were on a special offer. We were unaware of this, so the deal was not as advertised and good customer service would dictate giving what was advertised especially when asked for twice.
Nevertheless overall the service and the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisyloo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry that there was some misunderstanding over your 3 night four poster room stay. We do heavily discount longer stays at the hotel and the hot tub was indeed included free with your stay and you were able to have booked it at any time as I believe I must have mentioned to you. However, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and pleased that the small disappointment did not affect this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you visit Ashbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is easy to find and very central we arrived very early but as room was available we were allowed to check in. Four poster room was of good order, clean, lots of hot water, good quality towels and dressing gowns. We enjoyed the hot tub to!The owner was very welcoming and chatty gave us good recommendations on places to eat and drink smiths tavern for ale drinkers! Chinese lovely although a little dated inside, best place to eat is the bowling green inn at the top of the hill steep walk but worth it fantastic steaks. Breakfast was laid out with fruit, yogurt, cereal fruit juice all of very good quality and then you can order from menu for cooked breakfast we had full english which was ok. All in all great place to stay would definitely go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room not looking out onto the road as quite noisy from the lorry's going past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Station Hotel and Ashbourne with its quaint places to visit and eat and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ideally located for everything in Ashbourne. The owner was very welcoming, even though we arrived slightly early. The four poster room was fantastic, with the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! The complimentary bottle of wine was lovely. The owner was very helpful with local knowledge, and directed us to a fantastic Thai restaurant. Breakfast was also really lovely, in a beautiful breakfast room. If you like interesting buildings with a real sense of history and a warm welcome this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Four poster room makes you feel really special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claraboDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of the Station Hotel. We are very pleased that you had a fantastic anniversary. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the four poster room and yes, they are extremely comfortable. We do hope that we will see you again in the future should you venture back to Ashbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights over New Year whilst visiting a friend in Ashbourne. The hotel is ideally located for everything in Ashbourne. Each room is individual decorated which is a breath of fresh air from corporate chain hotels. Highly reccomend booking a room with a four poster bed as the one we had was amazing and had the best nights sleep in ages. David is an extremely helpful and knowledgable host. Breakfast each morning is freshly prepared and no lukewarm buffet breakfast like in most hotels these days. There is also hot tub which we booked before going out and was a great way to start the evening.

Room Tip: Request a four poster room for that added extra treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Station Hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future should you return to Ashbourne and again thank you for your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay over the New Year at the Station Hotel. We were met and greeted with a smile by David when we arrived on the Sunday. My wife came down with a "bug" during our drive to Asbourne and spent all the Sunday afternoon, evening and night in bed, with David very courteously asking if there was anything he could do, that does not always happen. The bed in our room was unbelievably comfy (memory foam?), I can honestly say that it was the best bed (apart from our own) that we have slept in for many a year. The cooked breakfasts were of a very high standard, so overall, apart from sqeaky floorboards (bearing in mind the hotel was originally built in 1901) we were very pleased with the Station Hotel's accomodation, quality of breakfast, service and general hospitality we received from David. We have no reservations in recommending the hotel if you are looking to stay in Asbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisljwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a fantastic review on your hotel experience Thank you kindly for your future recommendations and we are delighted you enjoyed the whole experience and ambience if the building. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Station Hotel should you return to Ashbourne in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just back from my second stay at the Station Hotel whilst on business.
The hotel has a interesting history and is well situated. I can't really fault my stay, yes the floor board squeak but it is a old building, which is kept very clean and has comfortable rooms and very comfortable memory foam beds.(well my room had one.) Breakfast was excellent and Dave is the perfect host.
Both the Red Chilli indian and Smiths Tavern are a short walk and are worth a visit in the evening.
Looking forward to staying again in 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased that you decided to stay with us again and hope that there will be many more visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
324 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing