We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located friendly hotel”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well located friendly hotel”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 7&8 December with friends and had a lovely weekend. David was very attentive and knowledgeable of the local area. Our room was comfortable and we did not use the car all weekend. We did a walk from the door on the Saturday and we walked to the Bowling Green pub for a meal on Friday night as recommended by David. After our walk we had an hour in the hot tub which was a bonus. Ashbourne had a lot to offer so I think we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We appreciate your time you have taken to write such a fantastic review on your hotel experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    120
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
198
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, really unusual rustic building with tons of character. Slept in a very comfortable, cosy four poster bed. This is a welcome change from very sterile hotel chains. The staff are friendly & very knowledgable about the area, especially the dining, we took their recommendation to eat at the Bowling Green inn which was warm, welcoming & served very good food. Breakfast in the hotel was nice. All cooked fresh & again welcome change from stale buffets offered by larger hotels. Really like this hotel, great location & would be great for walkers.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RicksterinTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the Station Hotel. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again in the future should you return to Ashbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

stayed at the hotel for 2 nights last week 13 .14 nov i hope my ratings says all there is to say .david was most helpfull even turned the car around for us.niki what can i say she is the most friendly and helpfull person i have met nothing to much trouble for her.to any one thinking of visiting ashbourne go to the station hotel you will not be dissapointed hope to be back in the new year.once again thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalsallPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Station Hotel. We would like to wish you a Happy Christmas and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel and chose it because of its location right at the end of the Tissington Trail. We had a wonderful time, it's a very friendly and welcoming hotel with some beautiful rooms. The breakfast was both good quality and quantity and there are plenty of places within walking distance to find dinner. We ate at The Bridge and it was perfect. (Highly recommended)
David was very accommodating , he happily provided safe storage for our bikes and even dried some very muddy cycling gear for us overnight in their boiler room. That's what you call service!
We will definitely be returning .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. Yes the hotel is just on the opposite side of the road to the Tissington Trail. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and sampled some of the fine restaurants and pubs in Ashbourne. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Myself and my partner spent a night at the station hotel on 24.10.12. We chose the hotel based on the fantastic reviews and I must say it did not dissapoint. The room was huge and absolutely beautiful, we spent time in the hot tub and the cooked breakfast was perfect. If we were able to, we would of loved to stay longer, definitely be recommending the station hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiestanesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are delighted that you had such a good stay at the Station Hotel and sampled the hot tub experience. We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future should you return to Ashbourne. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very welcoming, upgraded to the four-poster bedroom, and as full a choice of breakfast as I could wish for. We only stayed for one night, found a great Indian (Red Chilli) 5 minutes walk away and good beer in the Smiths Tavern also nearby. Would have happily stayed longer if we had more time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJDurzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us at the Station Hotel. Ashbourne is indeed a small historic market town, but does offer some lovely restaurants and pubs to discover and enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future should you return to Ashbourne.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at The Station Hotel 18-21 October 2012 , Warmly welcomed by owners David & Margaret who immediately made us feel part of the family.The hotel is very comfortable and has a warm homely feeling with plenty of areas to sit and relax.The rooms are large and very clean with flat screen tv and free wi-fi.Breakfast was excellent especially the full English.The hotel is well situated just a short walk from the centre of Ashbourne.Would recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It was such a pleasure to welcome a wonderful family group to the Station Hotel. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable. We very much hope that you will visit us again next year as suggested for another family get together. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
David and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.8 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
18.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
10.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing