We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of charm in a great location!”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself and my two children (aged 12 and 14) stayed for one night at the end of August. We chose the hotel due to its location to Alton Towers and with places to eat, without having to use the car. Both were spot on! Ashbourne is a pretty town and the hotel is very central. Alton Towers is a short drive away.
On arrival we were given a warm, friendly and informative welcome. We had a room with a fantastic 4 poster bed - it was huge and really comfy! However, the single bed was not!! The single bed is in need of a completely new matress!! We all ended up having to sleep in the 4 poster (so its a good job it was large!!) as the single was that uncomfortable!!
We had plenty of towels and fluffy dressing gowns each, which was an added bonus!
Breakfast was plentiful!
Would we stay agin? Yes......but I'd check the matress on the single bed first!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAECambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very sorry that you didn't find the single bed comfortable and we will certainly look at that, however, the single beds are used only for small children really. We look forward to you and your family visiting again should you return to Ashbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 341 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We (family of four) stayed in the Station Hotel for three nights in August as a base close to Alton Towers and for exploring the Peak District.The hotel has lots of old world charm, every room has its own character. The personal attention we received from the owner/manager (David) from the moment we arrived was excellent and is hard to find these days. The rooms were spacious and clean, tastefully decorated and the creaky floorboard in our double room only added to the character of what is a period building. Didn't get to check out the hot tub, but the full English breakfast, cooked to perfection, was the best I've ever had in any hotel anywhere. The girl serving breakfast was polite and charming and nothing was any trouble for her. The location is ideal for Alton towers (about a 15 min drive) and has the beautiful countryside of the Peak District on its doorstep. Take time to discover the market town of Ashbourne which is lovely with many nice restaurants and traditional English pubs. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if I am ever back in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Station Hotel and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the Hotels character. Ashbourne is indeed a lovely market town with lots to see and do there. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future should you venture to Ashbourne again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at The Station 20th & 21st August as a stop-over when travelling from Suffolk to Scotland; this was our second visit, and it certainly won't be our last. The hotel has everything you can possibly need on a short break: it's central but in a quiet location, has a large secure car park, excellent rooms and first class breakfasts (pity I couldn't do justice to the breakfast on the second morning). David, the manager/owner is very attentive and the waitress at breakfast quite a looker! (Hope that's not too sexist). The dining room is very impressive with good quality furnishings etc.
A couple of local pubs to recommend when you're visiting The Station: "Smiths", just opposite the Market Square, lovely small pub with a good selection of real ales and spirits; "The Wheel" next door to the police station, just round the corner from The Station, a traditional bar with great banter and staff (the owner Steve always recognizes us from previous years.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally comfortable, some with 4 poster beds and chaise longues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lundinlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for writing a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit. The Hotel is constantly being upgraded to improve the comfort of our guests. And we hope to welcome you again and again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I booked to stay in a standard room at the Station Hotel for our anniversary back in July through a hotel booking site. However, as it was a special occasion we fancied upgrading to one of the four poster rooms so we just emailed and were told this was fine and we would be upgraded. Disaster struck when my partner fell ill and we were no longer able to go. We felt terrible having to rearrange after having only just changed our booking for the upgrade, but the lady who we spoke to via email was lovely and assured us that it wasn't a problem. Finally last weekend, we were able to go for our anniversary!

On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and pleasant gentleman who showed us to our room (after enquiring as to how my partner was now feeling) and informed us that included with the room was a bottle of wine and an hour in the hot tub. Due to my partner recovering from his operation, we were not able to use the hot tub, but we were able to drink the wine! We were told that we could have this in our room or downstairs, red or white, and just to let him know when we were ready.

The room itself was beautiful; the decor was tasteful and not too over the top, which some hotels can't quite seem to get right. The room was huge with a beautiful four poster bed, a chaise longue, two desks, a large TV and an adequate number of mirrors with plugs near them! Everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. We took our wine in one of the many lounge areas, after being advised to move our car around the back to the secure car park which is locked at night.

Breakfast was very good; full English cooked to perfection delivered in a speedy manner which allowed us to get off early from the hotel.

All in all, an excellent hotel made even better by the friendly and helpful owners, and if out that way again we would not hesitate to book the Station Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very pleased that you were able to stay especially after your partner fell ill, it really was no trouble to rearrange your reservation. It is also rewarding for us that you enjoyed your break and stay at the Hotel and we very much hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very disappointed didnt get the room we booked for, we had booked the triple room , which was meant to be a double bed and one single bed ( the picture on line it looked lovely) but were given the family room and the way the gentleman spoke it was meant to be better than what we originally booked for . Shower didnt work properly there was one double bed , one single bed and two bunkbeds (we were told not to use them as there was only the the three of us and would give more work to the person who cleaned the room). There were holes ithe wall in the bedroom area the cushions on the chairs which were for sitting on were filthy, the furniture looked liked they had come from a charity shop nothing matched. The only good thing was the breakfast and the service at breakfast. We should have maybe said something about the room but we arent like that and the gentleman who showed us to the room must have known that room is really poor quality to the rest of the other rooms ( as some of the doors were open to the other rooms and they lookede a very much better quality !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that we were unable to upgrade you to a four poster room with a separate bed for your child, but the Hotel was fully booked the night you stayed. When someone books a four poster room we are happy to add a separate small bed. During busy months it would be sensible for guests to book the room that they require so that they can enjoy their holiday. We are pleased however that you liked the rooms on passing. We have only 12 rooms at the hotel and ALL of them are equally in good order and different. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at the Station Hotel, we do pride ourselves on our cleanliness and have checked your room thoroughly and cannot find any unclean cushions,chairs etc. and the shower works perfectly fine, we have not had any negative feedback on this room before.

Naturally you are welcome to give your opinions on Trip Advisor, however, this is a forum for guests and owners to give accurate feedback and not feedback given due to feigned dissatisfaction.

We do hope that should you visit Ashbourne in the future you will return to the Station Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We travelled to this hotel on 28 June my birthday to be informed they had tried to contact us to cancel due to unforeseen circumstances. I was very disappointed as we had stopped in the hotel several years previous. I had also assumed that dinner was available in the hotel.
The proprietor explained we were Ok to stay one night with Breakfast and actually said we could stop the 2nd night but we would be on our own.[ No breakfast or drinks etc] He couldn't have been more helpful and offered us the 4 poster bedroom room . We had been to Northumbria and taken a big detour home in Norfolk to stop in Dovedale area for my birthday. He phoned a Hotel within the area who due to a cancellation were able to accommodate us. A sharp learning curve is I guess always take/leave a mobile phone number.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rhonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Yes we are very sorry that you were not available via the telephone to deal with your booking cancellation or able to pick up your emails. Cancelling room bookings is definitely not something that we do lightly especially with the economic climate being as it is! therefore, without stating actually what they were, the "unforeseen circumstances" were very sad! However, I digress, I am pleased that you felt we did everything we could to sort out an alternative accommodation, and can only presume that your low score for the Hotel was the disappointment you felt for not staying at the Station Hotel. Never mind we hope that you will be able to stay with us in the future should you return to Ashbourne and the Peak District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night here on our way up north. Having driven from Bristol, after work, we were tired and looking forward to a comfortable sleep, what we got was a whole lot more.
The place has character. We stayed in room 23, a beautiful large, corner room with a four poster bed and located on the 3rd floor. Concerns for handicap facilities should be confirmed with the hotel in the first instance as I did not see a lift. We hired the use of the jacuzzi which is located in the basement floor of the hotel. It was large and just the tonic after a long road trip.
Our only regret is that in the evening we did not venture far enough from the hotel during our walk to find a drink, this was our fault. We walked around the block and saw very little of interest, the local Sainsbury's was just closing, so we return to the hotel and sat in the lounge. It was late and the gentleman ( didn't catch name) very kindly got us some drinks and checked on us from time to time. We never saw or heard another soul, this not meant to sound as a criticism but more of a facinating fact. We learned that the hotel had been booked fully. Your stay will be a quiet, peaceful one.

The following morning we were able to leave our car parked at the hotel while we did a better job of seeing what the town had to offer. I like Ashbourne. It was a shame that we did not have more time take advantage of all that it had to offer but if ever we find our way in the area again I would not hesitate in staying at this hotel again. Friendly staff, quiet & comfortable rooms, and a good breakfast. It ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shinzo, Owner at The Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay in the Hotel. Yes the four poster rooms are very large and we are again pleased that you enjoyed your room. Ashbourne is a fascinating market town and you could conceivably spend that day looking around the quaint shops and inns.
We do have a lot of weddings in Ashbourne and surrounding areas and when we are full with guests the Hotel tends to appear quiet as they are all out.
We very much hope that when you return to Ashbourne you visit us again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Station Road, Ashbourne DE6 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $99 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901, the Station Hotel is an 12 bedroom impressive mock Tudor building situated on the edge of the Derbyshire town of Ashbourne (opposite the Tissington Trail) and Ideally situated near the centre of Ashbourne with the added advantage of ample car free parking! All the rooms at the Station Hotel have an individual style suiting the age and character of the building with the vast majority or original features still in place. Enjoy our characterful hotel, relax in the garden and enjoy a relaxing break at the Station Hotel. Outstanding views of the country side just minutes from the hotel by foot or travel by bike along the Tissington Trail which starts directly opposite the hotel. Whether you are a serious walker or just enjoy a casual stroll, you cannot fail to be entranced by the breathtaking scenery of the English Peak District with its wild rugged cliffs, soft green hills and peaceful wooded valleys. For Cyclist and Walkers the hotel is ideally situated for the Tissington Trail, 14 miles of traffic free track right into the heart of rural Derbyshire. Either bring your own bicycles or rent them from the Peak Cycle Hire shop, situated 400 meters from the Hotel along the trail (The hotel has secure lock up facilities for your own bicycles). You are advised to book your bicycles in advance for the first day. So you do not even need a car to enjoy the walks and cycle paths of the Derbyshire Dales! Ashbourne is located within easy walking distance literally two minutes into the town centre. This pretty town is a sightseer's paradise with delightful shops and cafes, cobbled streets and a twice weekly market on the Old Square. The newly converted Stables provide 2 bedroom, lounge, kitchen, self catering accommodation. Please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Ashbourne
The Station Hotel Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing