We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon break”

Bramhall's Deli & Cafe
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home made, locally sourced food. Served in a relaxed informal setting.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon break”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent break in the Cafe. Welcoming staff, good service and well presented excellent food. Also shopped in the Deli which has a great selection of different sorts of things. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    100
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner went on a spontaneous drive from Derby to Thorpe cloud. The satnav took us through Ashbourne and thought it looked like a sweet little place so parked up and went across the road for a quick bite.

I had the bacon, brie and cranberry roll and it was so yummy! My partner had the cheese and chutney roll which I think was one of the only choices for vegetarians but he's used to not having much choice and I'm sure if we had asked then they would have sorted something out (maybe a brie and cranberry?) The rolls came with crisps and a really lovely salad - it had allsorts of stuff in there! I had a hot chocolate with marshmallows and my partner had a latte. Both were perfect to warm us up on a cold day. We were shown the cake board and there was so much choice! Unfortunately we didn't have chance to order cake because they were closing soon but we certainly will be going back to try the orange and passionfruit cheesecake!

I also bought a couples of frozen bread rolls from them (they didnt have any left again as they were closing) but they gave me instructions to put them in the oven the next day and they were delicious!

We will definitely be going back soon :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saxhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a warm and pleasant welcome at Bramhall's when we stopped by for lunch, and the attentive service continued throughout our visit. The menu was lovely with plenty of choice. The food arrived promptly and was well presented. Very fairly priced for such excellent quality food and we are definitely looking forward to returning and sampling more from the menu when we are next in the area!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennlittlethoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb delicatessen and cafe”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Over the past 2 years we have been to this superb deli cafe.
The food is consistently excellent combined with friendly efficient service.
We have eaten in similar establishments all over the country and have not found anytwhere to match it.
With out any doubt it is the best and the best value for money in the UK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

we dropped in for a light lunch. Very pleasant service.
Food well presented and hot.
Cheerful and friendly staff.

Good selection of cakes and cheeses

Ideal spot or walking around Ashbourne.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stupot1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramhall's Deli & Cafe also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bramhall's Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing