We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous but....”

The Duncombe Arms Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
The Duncombe Arms Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duncombe Arms Pub is a delightful setting in which to enjoy a drink, some lovely food and a chat. You’ll have the ambience of a roaring log fire and enjoy choosing from a great range of beers, a varied and interesting selection of wines and all your favourite soft drinks. Our great food is freshly prepared and we offer traditional favourites with a few exciting specialties of our own – all at affordable prices.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food and overall ambiance lovely but...... the wait for food was shall we say far too long.
It is an eating experience rather than a pub with food. If they shorten the waiting time and the prices then I would love to cycle out there, have a grand meal and cycle home but I do not want to spend my day in someone else's four walls on a beautiful day especially when there is so much to explore in the area.

1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Barbara
Thank you for reviewing The Duncombe Arms. We are really pleased you thought the pub was fabulous and as you rightly comment the surrounding area is wonderful for bicycle rides or walks The Duncombe is the perfect place to take sustinence prior to or after activities in the beautiful countryside. The Weaver Hills to the North West of Ellastone are the highest local point and offer a panoramic view to The Wrekin in the West to Lincoln Cathedral in the East. However in the few years we have lived in the area I have yet to spot Lincoln Cathedral! We are sorry you had a wait when you were so eager to get out into the countryside and re prices we try very hard to offer a menu that does reflect value but at the sametime we get the best ingerdients which are fresh,locally sourced and served by a passionate team in the kitchen and front of house. We very much hope you will visit us again when enjoying one of the prettiest parts of England.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for The Duncombe Arms Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 704 of 780 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited this venue for the first time whilst down staying with good friends in the area and I wasn't disappointed. The pub has obviously undergone some very tasteful refurbishment and the decor creates a very relaxed comfortable atmosphere perfect for a leisurely lunch catching up with friends. The staff were attentive and efficient without being too obvious and the food was delicious. It is obviously a place which will be popular so worth booking a table if visiting during peak times but we turned up on spec and were easily accommodated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MoragPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Morag
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of The Duncombe Arms. Today is our first birthday since the refurbishment so you write up is a fantastic birthday present for all of us at The Duncombe Arms. We are delighted you had a fun time enjoyed the food and were well looked after by the team. Hopefully we will see you soon.
Best wishes
Johnny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall v. good, however, chips served with excellent fish were not up to scratch - suggestion of " soggyness ". The fish deserved better !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hugh Thanks for taking the time to review The Duncombe Arms. I will discuss the chips with our Head Chef Matt but apologies that these were not tip top. We are pleased that you have given us a Well Done message and hope you will be back soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

i agree beautiful furnishings and character, Have eaten here 3 times and have always found the service friendly.Well patronised as nothing quite equivalent in the area apart from The Saracens at Shirley, but even though good food and well presented I feel it is slightly overpriced. £7 for a tasty small mediocre salad as a starter is excessive. Cod and mussel chowder at £18 as main was excellent though no carbohydrate and all chips/ salad/ side orders extra. Fish and chunky chips with peas tasty but at about £17- dear.
I hope it survives and very busy tonight but feel it needs to offer some slightly more reasonable dishes if it is to succeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank possmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub The Duncombe Arms. We are delighted you have visited us three times and enjoyed the experience. With regard to pricing we try hard to offer value in our menu so that Fish and c hips (Delicious) is priced at £12 and a burger and Chips(Srummy) at £11. We have soup and a sandwich for those either in a hurry or wanting a light meal at £10. The inclusive menu offers value with two courses at £14.95 or three courses for £19.95 and both of these come with a complimentary glass of beer,wine or soft drink. You will see that we are mindful of our pricing and serving great food with friendly service. Thank you for supporting us and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duncombe Arms soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This use to be a really friendly pub, but when we walked in I felt like we were several classes below the expected level.
We were told there was no space as they were fully booked, so in an attempt not to look rude we bought drinks, planning to leave afterwards.
This is such a dedicated gastro pub that there isn't really anywhere to sit if you just want a drink, without looking out of place.
After a few minutes of drinking our (expensive) drinks we were approached and told if we wanted they could fit us in before a booking at 7pm. In hindsight we should have said no as all this meant was that both us and the staff spent the evening looking at the clock.
The food was nice, a little pretencious but I suppose that means they can charge the roof and you don't feel robbed. My mushy peas were in a jar.
This is not the place for a meal with young children, this is not the place for people on low budgets, this is not the place for people who just want a nice drink with no food.
The venue is exquisit, really well decorated and the place is unrecognisable from the old pub. It has so many qualities but I suspect it gets little interest from locals and now relies heavily on passing, middle class city people with no children and no budget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Cubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Duncombe Arms.

The Duncombe Arms is a pub first and foremost and we welcome everyone who comes through our door. Prior to being reopened in March 2012 the pub had been boarded up for three years with the likelihood of reopening remote. We are therefore delighted that the business has been so well received and supported by both the locals and customers further afield. When making the decision to get the pub back on it's feet our aim was to make sure that we had local customers and we take great delight in seeing them through the week popping in on the way back from work or coming later with their families to drink or eat. With regard to children we have children of our own so we welcome families and believe this adds to the charm of The Duncombe Arms.

For customers wishing to eat over the weekend we recommend booking as we are then at our busiest. We will try our very best to fit people in but this is always with the proviso that they are made aware that we have further bookings.

The menu does offers variety and value and our recent addition of an inclusive menu in the week of either two (£14.95) or three courses(£19.95)with a complimentary drink has been well received. On the a la carte menu we have Fish and Chips at £12 and our Duncombe Arms burger at £11. All our ingredients are locally sourced and freshly prepared on site.

Please rest assured that this is an all inclusive pub where the team want every customer to have an enjoyable experience eating delicious food served by friendly staff.

Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duncombe Arms Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Duncombe Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing