We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBELIEVABLY BAD SERVICE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Carlo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Da Carlo
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLY BAD SERVICE!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As my wife and I were staying in Asbourne for two nights over New Year, we decided to prebook a table at Da Carlo's for New Years Eve. We knew it was a little on the pricey side at £29.95 for a fixed menu but accepted that as most places inflate their prices for New Years Eve. The food itself was good, no issue with that, but the time taken to serve the various courses took an eternity, 3 hours from when we first sat down to when we left!! They had either not prepared correctly for the evening staff wise or they must have had an issue in the kitchen, or both!! even the locals who were regular customers were getting upset. It appeared that if you moaned about the length of time taken between courses you were served quicker, so people who had come in later than others were being served first. I did let my feelings be known during and at the end of the evening. Once bitten twice shy, be aware!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisljwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very nice italian”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

very friendly staff, and a pleasant atmosphere. food was good and plentiful. staff made our children very welcome. food arrived very hot and quickly. not sure where the negative reviewers went but we thought it was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Trentonpfarkelburf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Traditional Italian”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good traditional Italian with an excellent wine list and specials board and parking nearby. Recommended!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Woof005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food but lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Ate here at this Italian restaurant with friends - sampled the antipasti, garlic bread and pizza/pasta dishes. Also had the lemon cheesecake. Nice (but too expensive for what it is) food - enjoyed the lemon cheesecake particularly. Pizza portions large but could do with some better, more up to date choices of toppings - just the usual pepperoni, 4 cheese available. Pasta was apparantly quite good, if not great.

Very clean, minimalist decor which was a change, but the place lacked an atmosphere. Some jolly music would have helped. A few couples and family groups - proprieters seemed to want to close up fairly early for a Friday night so put the bill down before we asked for it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inca06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visiting Ashbourne for a wedding we were depressed by the apparent lack of decent restaurants in the evening. We tried Da Carlo at random and were pleasantly surprised. Original and well though out menu with an interesting special board. I had venison steak, really good and a first for me in an Italian restaurant. House red was superb and cheap. Would come again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GandL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Carlo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing