We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly and tranquil.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dovedale

Dovedale
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Trust is a registered charity. With your help, we protect some of the most important spaces and places in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. We take care of historic houses, gardens, mills, coastline, forests, woods, fens, beaches, farmland, moorland, islands, archaeological remains, nature reserves, villages and pubs - and then we open them up for ever, for everyone.
Thetford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heavenly and tranquil.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We walked from the Dovedale car park to Milldale - an easy walk with some steps and slippery patches along the way. Buy a walk guide for £1 at the National Trust information kiosk at the car park - it points out everything there is to see which otherwise you may miss. Toilets and refreshment kiosk at the car park. Think car park was £2.50 but well worth it if you want to talk a walk. Toilets and refreshment kiosk in Milldale also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyLillycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    227
    27
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A very pleasant walk along the River Dove, across the stepping stones and on into Milldale. Lovely takeaway coffees and snacks at Pollys and then a return walk. 6 miles in total. Gorgeous scenery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Forget those 'average' reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't even know this existed - just saw it on my tourist map and husband and I decided to go. What a beautiful, tranquil and soul stirring place. A well maintained path with just a few tricky bits made it a fascinating and intriguing walk. There were so many corners we went round and simply said 'gosh' or 'wow'. This is a special place which makes it all the more sacrilegious to find small amounts of rubbish and dumped (filled) dog bags left in a few places along the way. We were happy to pay the £2.50 car park fee especially as it had shaded areas where, if you needed to, you could leave dogs in cars and feel comfortable with it. That said, how could you not take the dog. Speaking for myself, I was disappointed with the dog on lead rule. Our two loved the river, the walk and the nooks and crannies. Frankly, well behaved dogs with equally well behaved owners were a darn sight more desirable than the ignoramuses who had fouled the area with rubbish. Don't get me wrong, 98% of this beautiful place was unsullied but even a can top seemed to shout 'shame'. Go there - especially, if you can, later in the afternoon or out of the high season. Stand in the little cave where the water bubbles out of the ground, absorb the serenity and tell me you don't believe just a little in the old gods.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank valinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very uplifting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We love this place and have been many times, but on this occasion we took our grandchildren aged 7 and 11. The 2 girls are more into Monster High Dolls, fashion and ipads and we were a bit worried the afternoon would be spent listening to them saying their feet hurt and they were bored. However, they absolutely loved the place and were clambering up and down the hills all afternoon and finding the most difficult parts of terrain for me and my wife to walk on. They particularly loved walking across the stepping stones, which I too loved to do as a boy. It really is a good idea to take a picnic as the cabin food shop in the car park is quite expensive and has has limited stock. It does sell amazing ice cream, however. One gripe, however, as others have stated, car parking is expensive. I assume the car park is run by the County/District Council, so come on you lot, let's park for free, if not much more cheaply, in the countryside that belongs to us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Dove Dale :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful place, very unspoilt.
It's a great place for a picnic. Lovely walking one side then coming back and crossing on the stepping stones and walking back the other side. Even picked some blackberry's this year which made a lovely crumble.
Knocked a few coins in the money tree which we had not noticed before.
Finished off with a lovely ice cream as we got to the car park such a lovely day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn1971x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovedale also viewed

 

Been to Dovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing