We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend 2-3 hrs”
Review of Dovedale

Dovedale
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Trust is a registered charity. With your help, we protect some of the most important spaces and places in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. We take care of historic houses, gardens, mills, coastline, forests, woods, fens, beaches, farmland, moorland, islands, archaeological remains, nature reserves, villages and pubs - and then we open them up for ever, for everyone.
Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great way to spend 2-3 hrs”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely walk along the river with the picture postcard stepping stones across the river, grassy or forested hills on either side, rock arches, caves and odd shaped rocky outcrops. Not too many people on a cold sunday in Feb but I bet it's packed when the weather is warmer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank felineluckypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    260
    32
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Visit in January”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dovedale is a beautiful place but it is EXTREMELY touristy. Unless you visit in January. The last time I came was in August and the place was packed with just about everyone you can imagine, including a coach bay full with about 8 coaches. I decided to venture out for a mid week trip during the snowy month of January and was awed by its incredible beauty that looked so different in the snow. I must have only passed about 10-15 walkers on the 2.5hour walk to Milldale and back to Ilam (it was a Thursday). There are quieter places to be found if you venture off the main path which was possible for me (there was literally just me and sheep), even in 6 inches of snow, but markings for footpaths and tracks are unreliable off the main drag so be careful. Out of things to do in this area, it'd still be on my list but maybe think outside the box when considering when you visit and what you do on your visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcforsterpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beautiful limestone scenery”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Though the South end of Dovedale is a bit touristy you don't have to walk far to get away. It's never deserted but is worth a walk up. Lovely flowers and birdsong as well as the stunning scenery. Great for kids who like to run about, hop over stepping stones and peek into caves.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesleyHedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a beautiful place partially ruined by the hordes of tourists that descend on te place. Visit early in the day or not at weekends, when it is bearable. It is not the best of the dales but I wouldn't dream of telling you where they are

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Dovedale is one of the places to visit when in the Peak district and it is easy to see why, even in late October. The riverside walk is very pleasant and, of course you have to walk over the stepping stones. (Much easier to do this time of year - during Summer they get 3,000 people per hours trying to cross the stones!!) You can walk as far as you want to along the riverside or climb up onto the tracks around the peaks overlooking Dovedale. The car park is a reasonable price at £2.50 all day and there is a small cafe serving beverages and light snacks. they serve a surprisingly good cheese & tomato baguette.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovedale also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Dovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing