We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular visitor”

The Stepping Stones
Ranked #29 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Next to The Travelodge Hotel, Five minute drive from Ashbourne Town centre and twenty minutes drive from Alton Towers and Derby City Centre. Easy access from A52 and A50 and open every day.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A regular visitor”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We eat here twice a week (sometimes more). Many of the staff know us and it is very home from home. Parking is easy, the atmosphere is welcoming, the food is fine, good wine list and it is not over the top on price.

What more do your want?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Madam.

Thank you for your feedback, and we are very happy that you are a regular visitor and appreciate your custom. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    180
    91
    58
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Standard pub food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have eaten here on numerous occasions the pub is situated off the town centre with a large. Car park,it also has a large beer garden,The inside of the pub is quite spacious and we'll laid out.I would class the food as standard pub food with various meal deals available.I have always found the food acceptable not to expensive and the staff polite.The pub always appears busy and popular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, its good to hear that you are a regular visitor and we appreciate your custom. We are a family friendly pub, and we do try to cater for every customer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices, pleasently surprised”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate here as a family, early evening time. The pub was busy but not bursting and the staff are very attentive. My father even mentioned that they must be hiring graduates now, as they were very articulate and friendly !

The food was lovely, we'd not been for a while and they had changed the menu. The burgers were well cooked and hot, childrens meals plentiful and given the thumbs up and served quickly and attentively.

Well priced food and super service. Will visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, its great to hear you enjoyed your visit so much. Our staff are a credit to us and we always try to ensure they are well informed and thoroughly trained. Our gourmet burgers are a very popular choice, and we try to ensure all children are well looked after. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for Stepping Stone!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a welcome sight, next to the awful Travelodge where we were staying for one night over the Christmas period. A really pleasant approach through an attractive garden with lit decorations and ornaments, we were greeted with a big smile and seated right away.
The menu looked inviting with a selection of well thought out snacks and full meals, but as we were tired and more than a little disgruntled with the hotel, we decided to have a full meal with a bottle of wine.
Whilst the meals were OK, my partner had the steak pie, which had been microwaved and therefore the pastry was soggy and the vegetables over-cooked. However, give the staff their due, this was taken into account when we came to pay. I wasn't very hungry so opted for a warm chicken salad, of which the meat was very dry and tasteless, but there was plenty of it. We decided to share a pudding and this was a good end to the meal. The house red wine was OK and a surprisingly good price.
I think, considering it was boxing day evening, we couldn't have expected too much, but the welcoming and cheery staff more than made up for any disappointment with the food.
We tried to go back for breakfast the next morning, but the place wasn't open, which was a shame - might be worth their while thinking of doing that to pick up the business from the hotel?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sallyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

I am sorry that your steak and ale pie was not as it should have been. We do try to ensure that if any guests do not enjoy their meal, we do something to rectify this as soon as possible. Unfortunately due to our seasonality we do not open for breakfast during winter, however we are open for breakfast during the warmer months. Thank you for your feedback, as it is invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food & good service pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to visit the Stepping Stones on 1 Jan for an evening meal. The pub wasn't too busy so we were seated straight away. We ordered food, my husband opted for the barbecue chicken cheese melt with vegetables and I ordered the scampi. The food was very nice, chicken very tender and not at all dry. Scampi was nicely cooked and not at all greasy. Desserts were nice too and highly recommend the toffee waffle sundae :). Overall service was good as was the food. We will be visiting again in the future as our experience was a very pleasant one. For a pub the menu has lots of choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at The Stepping Stones, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your meals. Our menu is aimed to offer something for everyone and its great to hear this was the case for you. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stepping Stones also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing