We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping Stones - better than expected”
Review of Stepping Stones

Stepping Stones
Ranked #32 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Next to the Travelodge Hotel, five minute drive from Ashbourne Town centre and twenty minute drive from Alton Towers and Derby City Centre. Easy access from A52 and A50 and open every day.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were part of a group of 13 people staying in the Travelodge next door to the Stepping Stones pub.
We all went there on Friday night for dinner. The place was very busy but having popped in at 6pm to book tables for 7pm we were all seated by 7.15.
The service was quick and friendly and the food, typical pub fare plus a rotisserie, was well cooked and presented.
We can thoroughly recommend.
We then turned up for breakfast next morning which is served from 8.30am.
Having read some of the reviews here on Tripadvisor we felt some trepidation but our fears were unfounded.
The staff were welcoming, the service was reasonably quick and the food was OK.
Again we can recommend Stepping Stones for breakfast, only drawback is that they only serve at weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visits and we hope to see you again very soon. Breakfast service is something we are always monitoring, however we take on board what you have said and will certainly look into the possibility of extending these times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 660 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I have now been waiting 65 minutes for my bar meal, I waited 15 minutes for drinks no idea what the food is like, I am only using the place as shopping in travel lodge next door, if I knew of any where else that would serve me at 9:05 , believe me I would go. Avoid this place .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1stgearsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry you had to wait such a long time for your meals, as this is unacceptable. We were extremely busy on this night but this does not excuse such a long wait. I would be happy to hear any further comments you have, our email address is on our pub page. I hope to hear from you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying at the Travelodge next door, went to this pub for food. Nice, well-kept beer garden and good friendly welcome. Staff are great. Food was very good, lamb and mint pie was very tasty and the pastry was delicious. The others in my party really enjoyed the Sunday lunch, especially the Yorskhire puddings. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GraieemTchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are glad to you enjoyed your visit and the service you received. The lamb and mint pie is a customer favourite, as are our homemade yorkshire puddings, which are sometimes as big as the plate! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stopped at the Travelodge next door & ate here on the Friday. Pub/restaurant very busy but seated very quickly, very good service. Lots of choice on menu food arrived promptly & was nice & hot. We all finished our meals they were ok but not great. We would eat here again if stopping at the Travelodge because it is very convenient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Our aim is to serve good pub food in a restaurant enviroment. We are gald you enjoyed your meals. Please do let us know if there is anything you believe we could do better as we are always striving to improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped here for a meal as we were staying in the grotty Travelodge next door. We were very tired after a long trip and upset at the state of the accommodation (first time visit) we had chosen. So we were not expecting much from the Pub.

What a lovely surprise we got. We were greeted with a friendly smile from Ryan B, shown to a table immediately (even though they were quite busy). We were given time to study the menu, our drinks arrived with some free 'chip an dip' to munch on while we waited for our meals. The food was cooked to perfection. We had steaks, one med rare,the other well done. They were the best ones we had had for a long time. Portions were very generous. The staff moved quickly and quietly to clean tables and serve customers. A very pleasant evening in a busy but lovely local pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 666rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbourneBob, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do try to ensure our staff our well trained and knowledgable, so its nice to know this makes a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stepping Stones also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing