We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place lovely food .”
Review of Stepping Stones

Stepping Stones
Ranked #32 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Next to the Travelodge Hotel, five minute drive from Ashbourne Town centre and twenty minute drive from Alton Towers and Derby City Centre. Easy access from A52 and A50 and open every day.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My first choice to have a meal is the Stepping stones . Always freshly cooked . Very nice place. We like the gammon and the cirrus are very tasty. My hubby always goes for the chicken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSteppingStones, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 587 of 660 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

This new reataurent has no pretensiosn to grander, but offers good value food with excellent service. They are especially good for family visits with a attractive menu fo rchildren and an outside play area. Can be every busy at times when nearby Alton Towers is attracting a lot of visitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSteppingStones, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stopped in with our Daughter & Son in law for a meal, great accessible pub, lovely waitress, the food did take a while to come but well worth the wait. Will definitely call in again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSteppingStones, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stopped here for a meal on our way from splash landings. Staff were really nice. But me and my hubby were very disappointed in the Sunday lunch. It was tasteless. And wasnt very warm, infact the people that we saw being served sunday lunch before us had massive home made yorkshire puds... when ours came we had small ones from the freezer eg aunt bessies, and they were actually freezing cold....The service was very slow. The pub itself is lovely. But probably wouldn't eat there again.

Thank booleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSteppingStones, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spotted the pub/restaurant driving from another hotel in Cheshire to East Midlands airport and fancied some food. On entering I went to the bar for a drink. Asked the bartender if they had a menu and if could sit anywhere free. As I went to find a seat I sat a perused the menu and the same bartender came and took my order. I thought I would have to go to the bar which was a bonus that I could stay in my seat. I placed my order and was offered some comp nachos and dip whilst I waited. Very good service. Thought the prices on the menu were average but the menu perhaps needs some more imagination. I had gammon and chips. Which was very nice! I think only thing that was missing was a table check. Nobody came and asked me of the food was okay. Being from a hospititality background I think this is a chance to find out if someone's unhappy. Other than that though. All team members smiling and helpful! 9/10. Would be 10/10 if I got a table check :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pmuzzy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSteppingStones, Manager at Stepping Stones, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stepping Stones also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stepping Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing