We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse Restaurant

The Lighthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 94 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This restaurant is wow

We ate here on Friday night after a friend recommended it to my husband

We were blown away by the place. The owner and head chef, Jon has created a lovely contemporary relaxed environment. With an open view to the kitchen you don't always get a relaxed feel to a restaurant, you can hear the bustle of checks coming and going, but this not the case at The lighthouse. The quality of the food is truly superb and the flavours of the dishes and the presentation were first class.

I have coeliac disease and eating out is always a little worrying, because not all kitchens understand that even with GF food there is a contamination issue. We always check with a restaurant before we book to ensure that they can cater for a GF diet. When we arrived we were greeted by really friendly staff and having ordered, Jon came out to us to reassure me that the dishes I had ordered would be ok, and I was not disappointed The Chocolate Sphere desert was out of this world.....if you're eating there anytime soon, you must order it!

We had a lovely evening at The Lighthouse and will definitely be going back. If you haven't eaten here yet, you're missing out on a real gem

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    41
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in Derby, good enough for our wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We found this little gem when looking for wedding reception venues. We had a meal here to sample the food and it was the best steak i've ever had! All of the food is incredible, perfectly cooked and presented beautifully. You get lovely little canapes and palate cleansers. It's very fairly priced. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. At our wedding reception everyone commented on what a lovely restaurant it is and how amazing the food was. The serving staff were so helpful and the chef accommodated everyones needs. The room is a perfect size, intimate without being too crowded. We will definitely be going back... a lot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were recommended The Lighthouse a couple of years ago but only recently got round to trying it. Having moved to Staffs from Derby five years, we've been searching for some proper fine dining as opposed to the usual alleged "gastro-pub". Without going into too much detail, the food, service and ambience is superb - if it was down to The Blonde we'd be here every weekend, but it really is a special occasion type place. The first time we had the seven course taster menu which was superb, and the weekend just passed we were with a party of six and ate off the normal menu. Starter of black cod was amazing, only to be surpassed by the steak with peppercorn sauce which was amazing ! .... desert of chocolate sphere, cheese and port ... and Rioja by the bottle full - overall a superb evening. They even catered for a couple of vegetarians in our party. Overall very very impressed and will definitely be back !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SkiPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant taster menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

if you love your food then i would recommend this place! do call ahead to see what menu they are offering because we arrived not knowing that it was only a £50 taster menu that night. it was well worth all the amazing different flavours and top marks to the chef for his unique imaginative combinations for each of his dishes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!! Already planning our next visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We went to the Lighthouse for my fiancé's birthday and want a wonderful time we had - food was superb as was the food and service! 5* all round!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie_130687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing