We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever”

The Bowling Green Inn
Ranked #4 of 95 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited this pub after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. We ate in the main bar where there was a friendly, comfortable atmosphere. The steak was the best ever and I would certainly recommend this pub to anyone looking for a great meal in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    157
    47
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Littledean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic little find!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A two night stay in the Peak District and this little gem came up as a good place to eat. We were greeted by friendly staff behind the bar and orders were taken by a lovely polite waitress. Our order came to the table quickly and piping hot. The steak and ale pie was to die for and the Balmorrral chicken was just divine. Having dispatched the generous portions, we decided to give the puddings a go. Treacle sponge pudding and all butter lemon tart were the choices and we were not disappointed one little bit. The treacle sponge was light, tasty and very scrumptious. "Best I've ever had!", was my partner's response. The lemon tart was just heaven and so well balanced. On the whole a highly pleasant place to eat, with good food and excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BearlovesTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brailsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Top Steak House”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from first visit and can confirm the many rave reviews are correct, this is top notch steak. Excellent choice of starter, main and desert. Can recommend the black pudding and haggis starter, fellow dinners enjoyed the other starters. Only downside was the customers having a drink at the bar in the lounge can be intrusive if you are at a table in this area.

Helpful?
Thank AshbourneIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An outstanding and memorable meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On the strength of the many Trip Advisor reviews, our family group of 5 (comprising 3 generations) diverted from Carsington Waters to try the food offered at the Bowling Green. It was well-worth the journey. We were given a very warm welcome and served with drinks whilst we pondered the lunch menus. We eventually decided to share a starter and settled upon Nachos (crunchy tortillas smothered with cheese and topped with salsa, sour cream and guacamole), beautifully presented and enjoyed by all. To follow, one youngster chose from the Kid’s Menu whilst the remaining 4 of our party opted for the Battered Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas (from the 2 for £12 offer). All 4 were in agreement that the quality was superb and amongst the best fish and chips ever tasted.
We cannot report on the desserts on this occasion; we were too full to try them!
Thank you Trip Advisor and thank you, Bowling Green for an outstanding and memorable meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank entofnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Pub, Good Pub food, Good value”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A good pub perched at the top end of Ashbourne, Nice bright but cosy interior. Had a catch up here with and old friend and to be fair I didn't really inspect the menu, we had the scampi and chips from the 2 for £12 menu and it was lovely, whole pieces of scampi, not the usual mush you get from Pub grub.
Considering it was a Monday lunchtime there was a steady trade. Dogs and Children welcom, perfect for the surrounding area of the Peak district

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bowling Green Inn also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bowling Green Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing