We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent b+b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lilacs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lilacs
Ranked #14 of 27 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent b+b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

At first glance I was a little nervous as it's been a while since I've stated in a b+b however I was pleasantly surprised. The room was beautiful and better equipted than most hotels.

The breakfast was stunning and the service so very personal. It was like staying with an aunty for the night. I would certainly stay again.

Stepping stones pub is a stones throw away and serves great food. Alton towers is about 15mins away and a nice drive

If your looking for a stop over with a personal feel or a place close to Alton towers this is for you. Don't be put off by the idea of a b+b or the look from the outside. It is small but it's amazing to stay at

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdachtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Lilacs which was competitively priced at £55 per night for one of the 2 bedrooms in the main house and only a 15 minute drive from Alton Towers where we spent a couple of fun packed days. Tina who runs the B&B is a lovely lady and very unobtrusive but on hand if you need anything and will cook you a lovely English breakfast in the morning.

This is obviously Tina's home which she takes very good care of and whilst the 2 bedrooms may be a little bit dated they have everything you require for a short stay including free wifi and tea/coffee making facilities and hot chocolate which my daughter enjoyed as well as the chocolate wafer biscuits! There is a small flat screen tv in the room and a hair dryer as well as toiletries in the bathroom and nice fluffy white towels.

Overall this is a very nice spot to stay for a short break wherever you are heading in the area which is lovely and there are a couple of very nice restaurants nearby for your evening meal. I would recommend both The Royal Oak and The Stepping Stones both within a 10 minute walk of the B&B.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely view to the rear and a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We normally stay at one of the larger hotels in town but decided to stay here for the location, was great value and very friendly. 10 mins from Alton towers so really handy for us as we spent two days there and we would stay again. Converted garage was perfect for our friends and my husband and I had a room on the main house.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen-Neefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Lilacs.

We were looking for some where cheap near Alton towers to stay for one night. We paid £55 for 2 of us to stay on s Sunday night and we had a cracking breakfast the next day.

The owner is a lovely lady who recommended we had our tea at the pub up the road ( royal oak ) which is only a 5/10 minute walk. I would also recommend this pub as the portions were very big and delicious.

It's a tight gap to get onto the car park and I think a range rover might not fit through.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely go again if we visit Alton Towers !!!

Jameo

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

@15mins from Alton Towers this delightful but small B&B suited our needs down to the ground. We were met in the car park by the owner on arrival whom was very friendly and imformative about the area. We had a meal at the local pub (as advised) and it was out of this world (wonderful surprise). The following day we went to Carsington Water and cycled round the lake, it was beautiful.

The room was adequate (sizewise) for our purposes ( please remember this is a house and not a hotel!) with a very large bathroom (room 2).
Had everything you needed inc tv, hairdryer, fan, tea, biscuit, water etc. Breakfast was made to order and was plentiful and set us up for a busy day!

We came away from The Lilacs feeling like we had just stayed the night at our Grandma's, if in the area or visiting Alton Towers and you need somewhere to stay then you cannot go wrong with this delightful little B&B. We will definitely be back next year.

All in all you were made to feel like you had just stayed the night at your Grandma's,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

This is a nice, cheap, clean and friendly b&b that offers good, comfortable basic accommodation at budget prices. It is situated about a mile from the town centre on the main (A52) road (room No.2 not affected by traffic noise). The only downside to the place is the wake up call from the extremely noisy plumbing pipework, and the possibility that you may have to share your breakfast table with other guests, but on the whole, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jupiter2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Lovely B&B about 10/15mins from Alton Towers. Easy to find. We ended up in 'The Annex' part of The Lilacs after the main house was full. The owner was very friendly and helpful and immediately went round turning all the heaters on to heat the place through and let us know good places to eat etc... The Annex was much more than expected with kitchen, front room with patio doors, dining area, bathroom with small bath and shower & double bedroom. Kitchen was complete with washer dryer, full size hob and oven and fridge. Ashbourne only a couple of minutes away with a good variety of places to eat. We chose 'The Red Chilli' Indian restaurant which was contemporary in style and served great food (they also do takeaway).

Breakfast in The Lilacs was also fabulous. Full english included an Oakcake which was very nice. Cereals/fruit juice/yoghurt/fruit also available in plentiful supply as well as big pot of tea and fresh filter coffee and toast. Lovely view across the fields at the back of the house. I believe Free Wifi was also available.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malibu2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 27 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Compton House
Compton House
#17 of 27 in Ashbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 27 in Ashbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lilacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lilacs

Property: The Lilacs
Address: The Lilacs Mayfield Road, Ashbourne DE6 2BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lilacs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lilacs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lilacs Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing