We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food in a lovely little pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yeaveley Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Yeaveley Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Yeaveley Arms stands proud in the centre of the village of Yeaveley opposite the village church. Taken over by Robin & Terri Hunter in March 2011, who also run the very popular Saracens Head in the village of Shirley, which is a 3 mile drive from Yeaveley.The Yeaveley Arms serves fresh, homemade modern food, with a great mix, from the traditional pub meal of Fresh lager battered Haddock with chips and mushy peas, to something a little more special such as Pan Fried Halibut Loin with Dauphinoise potatoes and fresh vegetables. On a lunch time we also offer a lighter menu, with a good selection of hand cut sandwiches, ploughman's and baguettes.We do get very busy in the evenings, and it is advisable to book a table to avoid disappointment.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a lovely little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been twice in a week I have fell in love with this gem of a pub/restaurant. Not cheap, but not that expensive considering the food is fresh and superb. If you are looking for really good food at an affordable price this is the place to go. Excellent.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegriffin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food good, ambience great, location super, a great pub with good food. the only problem we had was there were a lot of people in the pub and the staff were run ragged. I will try a week day in future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great Food when we dined here as a party of 4. We were the only diners, but our waitress checked if we wanted to transfer to their sister restaurant, if we wanted more atmosphere.. but we were happy with the peace and quiet. Food was lovely and well presented. Piping hot and our steaks done as requested, rare. Service was excellent but not overbearing and staff were friendly and professional. Looking forward already to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were staying in a nearby cottage and decided to try the pub for sunday lunch. Menu varied and we were made to feel very welcome along with our little dog. i ordered roast beef dinner, and hubby haddock and chips. The batter was so light on his haddock and the fish was moist as if just landed off the boat. Beef dinner was very, local derbyshire beef was tender full of flavour, served with veg roast potatos and yorkshire pud. all very nice. good average price for what we recieved, would come here again if in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We always go here for a treat because we will never be disappointed. They do the best steak you could wish for. Great atmosphere and A* service. Nothing is too much trouble, delicious food and good value.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yeaveley Arms also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Thorpe, Ashbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing