We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate here three nights running!!!”
Review of The Yeaveley Arms - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Yeaveley Arms
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Yeaveley Arms stands proud in the centre of the village of Yeaveley opposite the village church. Taken over by Robin & Terri Hunter in March 2011, who also run the very popular Saracens Head in the village of Shirley, which is a 3 mile drive from Yeaveley.The Yeaveley Arms serves fresh, homemade modern food, with a great mix, from the traditional pub meal of Fresh lager battered Haddock with chips and mushy peas, to something a little more special such as Pan Fried Halibut Loin with Dauphinoise potatoes and fresh vegetables. On a lunch time we also offer a lighter menu, with a good selection of hand cut sandwiches, ploughman's and baguettes.We do get very busy in the evenings, and it is advisable to book a table to avoid disappointment.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ate here three nights running!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at a local B&b and althought there were other food places suggested, after going here my first night I returned three nights on the run. Food was lovely, especially the squash and potatoe soup which I had all three nights.
I actually ate here on my own and the staff were really friendly, although the worst night was probably the Friday when they were the busiest.
Atmosphere was also lovely and I would recommend anyone staying in the area to visit this pub, you wont be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank G1ggle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
islay
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Portions are too large”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Pleasant gastropub environment that tries really hard but serves uncomfortably large portions. It is not necessary to have huge cod steaks drowning in an ocean of sauce accompanied by billions of butterbeans and a squadron of unnecessary (huge) tigerprawns (which are tasteless nonsense anyway). To finish two courses is a feat (and I am a fifteen stone glutton). Three courses is for those who fancy a seriously gluttonous challenge. The menu presses all the right buttons (although it is too long) but can I just suggest spending a little less money on volume of food while spending a little more time on subtlety?
Please do go though, the service is friendly, and the butcher block bread board a nice way of using that bit of dead space...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What a Change !”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We first visited for a meal about 3 years ago. On our last visit we were the only customers and it was all a bit awkward to say the least. Having heard good reviews from other friends we decided to give it another try.

What a change!

We were there on a Wednesday night and the place was pretty much full (good job we had booked). The staff were all very friendly, polite and knew what they were doing.

The menu is simply written on a blackboard on the wall, but what a great choice of food - far from your standard pub grub. For starters we had box baked brie, pate, crab and avacado salad and a great continental meat platter for starters, all served with a great range of breads.

On the mains we had, half a crispy duck, beef stroganoff, rack of lamb and quiche with salad. All of these were of excellent quality with great presentation.

As has been noted in other reviews the portions are large, none of us could manage a desert and that's quite rare for us as sweet fans !

Overall a most pleasant evening, with great food, good atmosphere and pleasant staff. Well done, we'll see you again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went for the second time on Saturday having previously been on Boxing Day. Same excellent food and service by polite and accomodating staff. Had ran out of the fish my wife and I wanted but the chef created the same dish using another type of fish. Good value for money. Will return again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELMANDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall it was very nice”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We visited for an evening meal and the food and atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. Please be aware the portions are on the large side!! The Yeaveley burger was far too big but lovely.
Would recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTurner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yeaveley Arms also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Hulland Ward, Ashbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing