We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Callow Top Holiday Park
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent site”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrivied on the sunday, within 10 minutes we were at our tent pitch, huge compared to other sites visited, the facilities were excellent, 20 pence for a shower stops people staying in there for an hour, never saw a queue for the showers, the play park and pool kept the kids busy. We never saw the pub open but then there is a bar in the next building. We were very fortunate that there were no "families from hell" all the time we were there. As said before, the tent pitches are more than ample, there is a big grassed area in the middle of the tent pitches for people to let their kids play. The shop had food and camping basics, there is a couple of supermarkets just down the road. With reference to a review that has been posted by a big group...... you got visited by a warden more than once and you wonder why you were kicked out. An 11pm curfew is more than late enough for a family site, we booked it because of this enforcment.

To conclude, perfect family site, all sites get the "chav anti socials" they cant help what goes in but they can certainly try to control them. I would definatly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hands141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    133
    80
    26
    42
See reviews for
267
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

spent 5 nights here in August. Big pitches so lots of room. We were in field 6 that has a lot of space in the middle to play rounders, football etc. Nice playground for kids which is a 1 min bike ride from pitch, we were happy for our 6 and 9 year old to play there alone and come back. Nice walks in the area and next to Tissington Trail for bikes. Pub on site nice and outdoor pool amazing for kids (I think the lovely sunshine helped). Quiet at 11 pm, which most people respected. The only things we found a bit annoying was it was a 2 min walk to toilets and showers (or 1 min bike ride! We were at the top end of field 6) also the if you're pitched on right hand side, next to the trees the tent doesn't dry out too well before you pack up before 11, as not much sun until later on after 12, but lovely for the day and evening. If we go again, we'd ask for half way up the field so closer to loos and also an inner pitch. Beware right hand side, no sun in the evening for BBQ.
Shop on site good and not too expensive, sells most things. Also a place to put ice blocks if needed.
If you're in a camper van or caravan, you're quite close to the playground, which can be an advantage or disadvantage depending how you feel about it, so mention that when booking if you feel the need.
We'll go again next year with friends who have a camper so we can pitch in another field with them.
Family disco was outside and good fun. Bring your own chair though as not enough benches for eveyone.
Overall really lovely, safe, clean place.
p.s. showers 20 pence and not a lot of them, think they do this to stop people showing for 20 minutes, which has happened to us on previous trips!
ENJOY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We chose this park because it had a swimming pool for the kids, and the Callow Inne and village green looked good on the website.
Efficient check in.  Separate lane for new arrivals.  We asked to be located next to friends, and every thing was arranged without any problem.  Security is also their priority, with manned barriers and strict no visitors policy.  The main gates are then locked over night.
Nice level field, but the electric touring pitch was small, limited space to manoeuvre the car and caravan, and once the awning was in place, there wasn't much room for the car.  The hedges gave us a bit of privacy, however they were overgrown, and taking up the pitch space.  Hard standing pitches are good because there is good drainage, however take a good hammer with you to knock in the awning pegs.  Hard standing pitches in Callow Top means HARD.  I broke my hammer and bent most of my pegs.
I loved the Callow Inne, nice village pub feeling.  And the village green looks good, however, by evening it gets a bit noisy with a lot of kids around.  Therefore if you ask for a pitch with electric hook up near the toilets, it could be noisy because both toilet / shower blocks are next to the Inne or the cafe and kids park.
The food in the cafe and Inne are good, plus there is free wifi in the cafe.  You can have a good pint there as well.  They also do breakfast from 8.30am.  However, the cafe is a bit small for the entertainment provided - bingo, quiz, play you're cards right, disco.
Nice showers, but could do with a bucket and mop to clean up afterwards.  Showers cost 20p per 4 minutes.  I feel this is a bit tight.  We had already paid for 10 days in Callow Top which came to about £300.  Therefore one would expect the cost of using the showers to be included.  The toilets/shower blocks are regularly cleaned, but some users manage to spoil the these facilities for others by making some mess
The outside swimming pool is heated and clean, and ideal for kids.  Gets a bit crowded at times.  It would have been nice to have the other side of the Inne open for refreshments and ice creams.
As far as the caravan site's location, it's just outside Ashbourne.  A lovely town, with plenty of small shops (several small butchers, ideal for BBQs),  it's own radio station and four supermarkets (Sainsbury, Waitrose, Cooperative an M&S food).  It's also got a market in the centre on Thursday and Saturday.  
The Tissington Trail starts in Ashbourne and passes the caravan site's entrance.  This is a cycle path that joins other cycle paths in the Peak District.  We cycled to Ashbourne several times.  A very quick route, and saved us paying for parking.  You could easily walk it.  Going towards Tissington has a slight incline but nothing too major.  Then it's freewheeling all the way back.  I took the kids once to Tissington Station, treated them to ice cream there and decided to go from there on our bikes to Carsington  Water.  It was a bit of a struggle.
Dogs are welcomed as long as they are kept on leads.  We would have appreciated part of the site designated for non pet owners.  It would have been nice not to have dogs barking in the morning, and not to discover dog mess outside our awning!
It's about 30 minutes to Alton Towers in the car and about 45 minutes to Chatsworth House.  Both well worth visiting.
We enjoyed our stay.  Thanks.

Room Tip: Take a good hammer with you to knock in the awning pegs.  Hard standing pitches in Callow Top means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here about 15 years ago and it's certainly expanded. We decided to have a few days walking in the peaks and as the weather had picked up camp rather than stay in a B&B. It's a very busy site and as we were only using our small 2 man tent they managed to find us a pitch in one of the smaller fields, (field 2),which had about 6 caravans and 4 tents in. It suited us perfectly, nice and quiet, and fairly private, something that is a plus when you haven't got the luxury of a walk in tent with standing room.
We found the young staff on reception very helpful and willing to answer any questions that we had. The site is very clean and tidy and we saw people picking up litter and generally sorting out anything that needed doing. We had read on Tripadvisor about the tight security and felt that on a site this busy ( there were children and teenages everywhere) that it helped the site feel safe and run smoothly, and that it could have been far noisier without the rigid rules. Another plus when your in a tent and need to get to sleep.
The only thing that we found a problem was the toilets. Our toilet block was housed in the same building as the cafe bar and the toilets were shared with the very busy bar. This was a problem in the evening when trying to get ready to turn in, cleaning your teeth and having a wash is a time you need a little privacy and with people coming in and out from the bar you didn't get that. One lady was trying to sort out her 2 young children in their pyjamas and was having a tough time telling them it was bedtime and they had to get ready because they could see lots of other children coming in and out and playing around. Also the toilets tended to be not as clean later on as it was shared with the bar, whereas camp blocks are usually left cleaner when your just using them for washing and personal hygiene and not as a general public toilet. But that was the only thing we felt needed addressing, everything else was spot on, a very busy site that was well run and very popular if the numbers on camp were anything to go by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We've been to Callow Top twice now. (2 adults 1 child age 7). Both times we've had an ecxellent time. The booking is easy and staff polite and helpful on phone. Booking in on arrival was easy and the satff were very helpful. Pitch size was large enough for a 22ft motorhome with awning and still room to park the xtra car we had taken. All facilites are clean, all staff are polite and very helpful. Facilities for kids to play/swim excellent. Shop well stocked with most basics and even some luxury goods (wine and beer). The site is a family site and behaviour of other users was not a problem. 11 o'clock is a very reasonable curfew for noise. Most campsites it's a lot earlier or not allowed at all. The site is excellent value for money and all facilities on site are free to use. Not like a some other places where everything is an extra. The pub is quieter than the cafe bar but both were reasonable on price and quality was excellent from both, on products as well as customer service. Both were also kept spotless, as was the site in general. The is a constant stream of staff attending to cleanliness and site tidyness. All the grounds were well kept. The shower bocks, laundry room and toilets were always available and perfectly clean too. There are full laundry equipment available to use and even a freezer for ice packs. We first came across the site when another let us down badly, it was the best thing that could have happened that holiday and we will definitely use the site again soon. For us it is an excellent place to relax and also a good base for looking around the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The facilities here are wonderful at the weekend, but the site is very popular and busy, especially, it seems, with large groups, so at night, the place resembles a council estate as you lie in your tent, forced to listed to chav families braying at their kids, overexcited teenagers running around, and groups of adults sitting around getting drunk and listening to loud music.

To be fair, most of the noise ceased at 11 (the "curfew") but don't expect any sleep prior to this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HebdenBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Because of the weather not many campers. We chose this site for pub shop and cafe on site. Pub dull and damp smelling and not open only at 7 and not every night. Cafe not open mid week. Shop not well stocked and was told because not many people there. Shower blocks all but one closed. You expect all amenities open when booking these in peak session.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SallyLadyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
11.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 17 in Ashbourne
389 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Lime Tree Holiday Park
#6 of 19 in Buxton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Top Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Top Holiday Park

Property: Callow Top Holiday Park
Address: Callow Top Park Buxton Road | Sandybrook, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Callow Top Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Top is an award winning family run holiday park on the edge of the Derbyshire & Staffordshire Peak District.Our 4 star facilities include a heated swimming pool (May - Sept,) shop, children's play area, cycle hire, pub & restaurant, coarse fishing lake and our very own micro brewery. We take tents, trailer tents, caravans & motorhomes and also have two holiday cottages on site.We're within easy reach of the market towns of Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton. Local attractions include Alton Towers (20 mins drive,) the Heights of Abraham, Trentham Estate, Chatsworth House and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Callow Top Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Top Holiday Park Hotel Derby
Callow Top Holiday Park Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing