We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful site, friendly staff.. cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Callow Top Holiday Park
glossop
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful site, friendly staff.. cant wait to go back”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked for a last minute weekend on a recommendation from friends, taking with us our 3 young children and dog. after just buying a new caravan we wanted somewhere with plenty of facilities in case anything went wrong.

£55 for 2 nights, 2 adults 3 children, a dog and a porch awning (think the awning charge is a little bit silly considering all the pitches have a grass area next to them anyway.)

i read some of the reviews on here and was quite nervous about our stay... soooo wrong!! from the moment we arrived the staff were incredibly friendly, every person smiled and waved to us. we arrived quite late in the evening, checking in was swift and efficient and as we made our way to the designated pitch.. field 5 which was a mix of tents and caravans. everywhere seemed very well organised and clean, and all of the fields are within a very short walk.

we ordered food to take away from Arnolds, which was very tasty if a little expensive. the shop is well stocked with everything you could need and the toilets spotless. The playground was fantastic for the children, and the pool looked great (way to cold to try it out)

ashbourne is a beautiful village with all the shops you could need.. waitrose, wh smiths, boots, and is only a 5 minutes drive from the site, and a lovely walk if.
all in all a fantastic site, and we will without a dount be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nualaj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    134
    82
    26
    43
See reviews for
269
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

As somebody who is not a camper I would def recommend this site. The shower block was always clean as were the toilets. Having a pub onsite was genius, the food and beer (brewed onsite) was excellent. The park was off the main road and therefore no noise from traffic, but close enough to walk into Ashbourne. We stayed here as its close to Alton Towers and found it to be the perfect location. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barclaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Callow Top during August and are returning in a couple of weeks. I encountered no attitudes from staff, they were all very helpful and polite without exception. I would not be returning if I felt any problems. The ONLY gripe I had was that a child whose parents/guardians/keepers didn't care less about was left free with a whistle which the little brat insisted on blowing almost non-stop for two days. That is not CTs fault though. Great pub, brilliant shop and over all and excellent place that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingyWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Me, my wife and our 2 young children took the caravan to Callow Top for a short break. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff who all seemed very nice and pleasant. We were pitched in field 2, and had hedges surrounding either side of our pitch for a little bit more privacy. The site has its own pub which is very traditional and welcoming. The pub also serves food and drink which was very nice and reasonably priced too. As well as the pub there is also a cafe on site which was open over the weekend which serves throughout the day and also had the on-site evening entertainment which was very enjoyable. The toilets and showers always looked nice and clean and even though there was a bit of a queue in the mornings (and the showers cost 20p) we didn't mind too much. The outdoor pool was a nice bonus, and even though it wasn't very warm, the kids insisted on having a swim. The shop was great, it was more like a mini supermarket! They stock lots of goods. Newspapers, bread, milk and also have lots of camping equipment just incase you forget anything. There is an outdoor playground for the children too which was quite busy but the kids enjoyed it. The only downside to our stay was that on our 2nd night the people in the caravan next to us were a bit noisy, but we rang the night security man and he asked them to be quiet and they went to bed shortly afterwards.

All in all I would definitely recommend going to Callow Top. I have already booked to go back for their half price offer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We have stayed at this sitetwice now, the first time when the staff were increbly rude and dismissive we put it down to a one off. Having just been for a further stay we found this not to be the case. Different staff just as rude. Wrote to complain when returned and, yes you've guessed it, stuck up for staff by saying they were being assertive not rude!

Thought pool was a bit of an added bonus with the park, but beware on each visit the children have been ill after swimming in it.

I will not be returning and would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LukesterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elitay, Front Office Manager at Callow Top Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
This review is upsetting to read as customer service is our top priority. One of the top comments that we receive from guest feedback is how helpful and friendly our staff are.

The allegations regarding the swimming pool are very serious & unfounded. This guest never reported this either during his stay or afterwards. I have worked here for 11 years and we have never had an incident with any guest being ill after using the pool. We are inspected regularly by the environmental health officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashbourne hotels

Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We went as a family in 3 tents, 2 tents were placed on caravan pitches and one tent was placed in field 7 ,this was about 4 minute walk away from eachothers tents which was inconvenient to say the least, especially as there was about 10 spaces free in field 7 for us all (we were told that the spaces were booked for guests that could arrive over the weekend) so we spent our time all crammed into the tent in field 7 and just slept in the others !!!! I found it strange that they charged per person and not per tent !! So we had to pay for our 8 year old child separately. We also had to pay for 2 nights stay instead of just the one night we needed.
We went too the on site pub which was full of less desirable people in shell suits @ vests and tee shirts stinking of BO. And the men were worse !!!

Overall ..... If you don't mind sleeping about half a mile away from your friends and hanging around the Bucket family in the bar while the blokes eye up your wife your in for a treat !!!

Saying that were going back in a few weeks for another night or 2 as the site is very pretty !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

On balance, a beautiful place - probably kept beautiful by some of the rather dictatorial rules.

We had 3 tents and one friend in a camper van. He was forced to camp alone, far away from the jollity of the group, in a separate field, because of "licensing laws". Bizarre!

It was also disappointing to travel to the countryside for the peace and quiet, and be kept awake all night by thumping disco music. Bizarre that I found my London home more quiet when I got back home!

However, the campsite was stunning; fields beautifully laid out and groups separated enough to feel private. The showers were outstanding, even if you had to have a little pile of 20p coins with you ...

And the placement of the campsite itself is stunning. Gorgeous views of rolling hills; perfectly situated to just head off into the fields for a walk by the River Dove, or cycle up to the Tissington Trail. Just magnificent.

My personal experience of the Peak District is that accommodation is always difficult to find and when you do get lucky, you pay a fortune. On balance, given the silliness of some of the rules and noise, Callow Top provides the perfect answer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elitay, Front Office Manager at Callow Top Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

In two of our camping fields we are only permitted to take tents. Due to your booking being quite last minute we only had availability for 3 tent pitches together in one of these camping fields. Your friend booked separately and even later than you. As he had a campervan we had no choice but to pitch him in a different field.

We have several places on site where we can situate mixed type pitches together and are always happy to do so whenever possible. If you do decide to stay with us again, and we have a little more notice, we'd be happy to get all your pitches together for you.

We did have a family disco on the Saturday night but it did finish at 10.30pm. The music that could be heard into the night was coming from a function at Callow Hall just over the hill. The wind direction that night unfortunately meant that it could be clearly heard at Callow Top.

We're a family site and do our very best to keep noise to a minimum after 11pm. Please accept our apologies that you were disturbed that night but it was due to circumstances beyond our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
11.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.9 mi away
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
Ashbourne Heights Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
10.3 mi away
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Lime Tree Holiday Park
#6 of 19 in Buxton
74 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 19 in Ashbourne
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callow Top Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callow Top Holiday Park

Property: Callow Top Holiday Park
Address: Callow Top Park Buxton Road | Sandybrook, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Callow Top Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callow Top is an award winning family run holiday park on the edge of the Derbyshire & Staffordshire Peak District.Our 4 star facilities include a heated swimming pool (May - Sept,) shop, children's play area, cycle hire, pub & restaurant, coarse fishing lake and our very own micro brewery. We take tents, trailer tents, caravans & motorhomes and also have two holiday cottages on site.We're within easy reach of the market towns of Ashbourne, Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton. Local attractions include Alton Towers (20 mins drive,) the Heights of Abraham, Trentham Estate, Chatsworth House and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Callow Top Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callow Top Holiday Park Hotel Derby
Callow Top Holiday Park Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing