We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandybrook Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
England, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our second family stay at this holiday park, we enjoyed it first time and were not disappointed second time around. We stayed in one of the 'new' lodges which was modern and clean with excellent views of the surrounding countryside and wildlife. We enjoyed the park and games room, as well as the swimming pool which was a comfortable temperature.

The parkland is in lovely surroundings and is close to Ashbourne with ample shops for your needs and there are many attractions nearby. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CustomerReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    73
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
200
109
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

as far as parks go, this one is a goodie..
we had a lovely family break and enjoyed the pool nightly and the whole place itself was very clean,tidy and staff friendly.
you are just a few mins away from lovely dovedale for easy or longer walking and the ilim country park was lush!!
the coach house was reasonably priced for beer but we didn't eat there as there are lots of good places nearby to eat and all the local take a ways deliver to the park (list in reception). matlock bath is really touristy but if you drive a bit further on there is matlock itself with a great park along the river, bakewell was lovely as was ashbourne itself ,the playpark in ashbourne was a real find for my 2 kids,chipwise....the one on the marketplace yummmy
enjoy!! oh and do give the gullivers theme park a try,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dre33dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed here for a short break with our 11 month old son. Location was great for what we needed, quiet but within walking distance (20 mins) of Ashbourne and easy enough to explore much of the Peak District.
We stayed in a standard Riber lodge, it was basic but had all the equipment we needed (hip bath was sufficient to bath baby), it was also very clean and even though we ended up with a pet friendly one (to get a hot tub!) didn't smell too much of dog! (though we had pet dogs as kids so not too sensitive). As mentioned, we did treat ourselves to a hot tub and were really glad we did.
Staff were really friendly and helpful. Pool small but we went midweek in term time so not much competition for space.
We didn't try the Coach House for food but did get two good takeaways (Dragons Nest and Red Chilli who both deliver), also Sainsburys and Waitrose handy in Ashbourne.
Would thoroughly recommend for anyone wanting a quiet break without needing too many facilities onsite.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed here with my three teenage boys, mainly to visit Alton Towers. It is a beautiful site with about 50 pine lodges in parkland, quite close to each other but not intrusively. The lodge we had was 3 bedroomed, and it had everything you would want (except sky!). Very clean and well furnished. The (smallish) pool was very popular with my boys, and if they had been younger there was a play area. The on-site restaurant was OK, but nothing special. Very handy tho' and did takeaway pizzas etc.
Def. would go back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnShanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed in a couple of the lodges. One of which had a hot tub and was pet free, the other didn't and was pet friendly. The one that was pet friendly had an odour of dog - so not great if you don't have one of your own

It was ok, clean with parking for 2 cars outside one lodge and 1 car outside the other but pleanty of additional parking but away from our lodges.

The bedrooms were very small and there was only one double in each lodge, ok for friends or children but not so good if staying with other couples. The bathrooms were clean but in one lodge there wasn't a full sized bath ok but not good if you want a soak after a day walking in the countryside.

The living areas and kitchens were all open plan and the kitchens had all mod cons needed for cooking up anything. A couple of take aways also delivery to the park for a small charge or free if the order exceeds £15.

The hot tub was an additional treat which added a cost onto the lodge price but is well worth it as the lesuire facilities at the park aren't up to much. When we stayed the whirlpool wasn't working and we had to ask for the sauna to be turned on. The pool was fine but became very crowded probably because there isn't much else to do.

The location of the park means that most things are a short drive away, the town of Ashbourne is nearest but out of walking distance. There are a few nice pubs and a horse treking centre near by. Further afield Alton Towers is a good family day out but can be expensive so look out for 2 for 1 offers.

The lodges provide bed linen and towels, bin bags and some cleaning equipment. You'll need to take your own dish washer tablets and extra bags as few are provided.
You also have to take all your rubbish round the the recyling centre which is quite far away from some of the lodges.

I would say that this park is most suited to people wanting to get away from it all and those that want to take their pets with them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed for a week with my 9 year old son in an Elvaston Lodge. The site has a lovely feel, spotless and quiet with 40 lodges within quite close proximity to one another but not feeling overcrowded at all. Our lodge was next to the woods and had everything you needed to self cater. There was also a sauna and spa bath in our bathroom which got a lot of use! There is a good size balcony with table and chairs for outside dining. On site we played table tennis, (£5 for two bats and five balls from reception, which you keep and can play any time you like), there is a couple of football nets, climbing frames, swings etc and a swimming pool which was never crowded. There are DVDs to rent at £3 per night if you choose to as well as Wi Fi access in reception although there was no table to put your computer on you had to sit on a bench. Whilst there we went to Dovedale and IIam which were beautiful, Alton Towers is about 10 miles away and a good day out even for people who don't like big rides. We also went to a Maze and play zone near Burton upon Trent which was great fun. Ashbourne was lovely and has a market on a Tuesday and Thursay and we also went to Carsington Water where you can do a number of watersports, bird spotting, cycling etc. we went on a horse and cart and there is a good play area and restaurant. We visited the Coach House restaurant which is based on the site but open to the public on one occasion and found it to be average food, quite expensive too. The staff were friendly and I will definitely go back although I might try the Darwin site next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJPerrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We’ve just returned from a weekend at Sandybrook, and I have to say it exceeded our expectations. We had a very enjoyable family get-together, and I think we were all pleased and surprised to find such high standards at the park.
All the staff at the park were friendly and helpful; customer service was excellent.
The accommodation comprises 40 or so wooden lodges, set in attractive parkland. We had a 4-bedroom lodge for 6 adults, 2 children and a small baby. The living/kitchen area was spacious enough, and well set out. There was plenty of cupboard space in the kitchen, and our lodge was equipped with both a dishwasher and a washing machine. Bedrooms were compact, but with adequate storage. We had a shower-room and a bath with overhead shower- in both cases the shower was very good. The lodge was clean and well-maintained, and was supplied with bedding and towels (though the bath towels were on the small side). Our lodge also had quite a large balcony area. Everything was clean and well-maintained. There are very sensible car parking arrangements- 2 cars can park at each lodge, and extra parking is available close to lodges.

Facilities, particularly for families, are very good considering that the site is fairly small. There is a good-quality playground for children, alongside a small football pitch and large grassed areas, bounded by trees. The swimming pool is excellent- clean and well-maintained, with water at a comfortable temperature; and there is a small children’s pool as well as a spa pool. Changing/showering facilities have been well-planned. There’s a games room, and a lovely little indoor soft-play area for toddlers.
We had a good meal at the on-site Coach House Restaurant, which again is very family-friendly- toys/ drawing materials are provided, and they have a children’s menu.

Sandybrook is well-placed for exploring the southern end of the Peak District- our family had a lovely gentle walk from Ilam to Dovedale, along the river and over the stepping stones, with a bit of a paddle to finish. Had we had more time, we’d have explored Ashbourne itself, which looked like a very attractive, thriving town. (We did call into Sainsbury’s to stock up, and encountered possibly the most helpful and polite supermarket staff I’ve come across).

We’d happily return to Sandybrook.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudlesstranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
2.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
308 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bentley Brook Inn
Bentley Brook Inn
#1 of 3 in Fenny Bentley
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandybrook Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandybrook Country Park

Property: Sandybrook Country Park
Address: Sandybrook Country Park Buxton Road, Ashbourne DE6 2AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandybrook Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star Sandybrook Country Park is set in the former grounds of Sandybrook Hall and provides a peaceful and relaxing base to enjoy a holiday in the Peak District. Accommodation is provided in luxurious lodges which sleep from 2 to 8 people. The park has an indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot tub, bar/restaurant and a woodland walk through the bluebell wood. It also has a range of activities available onsite including archery, waterwalkerz and bodyzorbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandybrook Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandybrook Country Park Hotel Derby
Sandybrook Country Park Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing