We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Coach and Horses Inn
Ranked #16 of 105 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited with friends on a Saturday. The pub is great, with a really nice menu and fantastic food. The specials list is extensive. Very friendly staff, well presented in a very cosy environment.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank simon-t8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After an enjoyable, but tiring, walk in Dovedale, we were on our way to Ashbourne to find somewhere to have an early dinner. But before we got that far, we spotted the Coach and Horses in Fenny Bentley. We stopped to check, and found that food was served all day, and an enticing looking menu. Well, what a find! The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating, and it was a very comfortable environment for a meal. The food was excellent, and both food and drinks very reasonably priced. If we are in Dovedale again, we shall certainly re-visit the Coach and Horses.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rocko1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Meeting with family together, Coach and Horses had a quiet area to chat. Then the evening meal arrived, hot and delicious. Thanks to the chef for interesting and tasty meals.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Recently visited with the family, had not been here for quite a while and was pleased to see that it is still run very well by the same family. The serviced was excellant as was the food. There is a good choice of home cooked hot and cold meals to choose from and a specials board. All in my party enjoyed what was served to them and the children particularly ate well. This place also serves some of the best chips I have had in a restaurant. Thanks for such good food

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Lovely proper pub with good service and great food. We had a lovely seafood platter with calamari, mackerel, prawns and smoked salmon in generous portions and a shake special. This was followed by a lovely lemon ice cream gateau with strawberries and cream. Great pint of pedigree and lovely viognier chardonnay.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank CathyGilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach and Horses Inn also viewed

Thorpe, Ashbourne
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Coach and Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing