We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
237
170
63
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
237
170
63
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub next door stepping stones travel lodge alton towers aldi supermarket stayed here the pub family room room was clean breakfast box budget hotel lady on reception sat nav excellent value for money close proximity short stay minute drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 496 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Stayed at Ashbourne TL prior to visiting Alton Towers. Room was clean, quiet and very good value for money. Well situated (Waitrose & Sainsbury 5 minutes walk, Aldi on same site) next to a pub which serves good food at reasonable prices. Would recommend.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be of great value and that your overall experience was a positive one due to the location of our hotel and the cleanliness of your room. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

This Travelodge is a new property in a great location. The facilities are basic but fine; a great bed, enough room for an overnight stay, a bath would have been nice but the shower was adequate. I presume the staff have multiple jobs but aren't available for much of the time.
As usual, the hotel adjoins a standard fare pub/restaurant serving reasonable meals but there's also an Aldi store next door if you want to make your own breakfast!
What is special, if you're a keen cyclist, is access to the Tissington Trail almost immediately on the doorstep. I didn't find anything to advise of such at the hotel, we found it by doing a recce and asking at bike shops, the hotel should make more of this. There's a cycle way at the end of Carnation way that takes you in to the centre of Ashbourne (about 1/2 mile) where you can take the tunnel under the town to the start of the Tissington Trail, a great easy route through lovely countryside, a few welcome coffee stops en route, about 34m in all if you go end-end both ways.

Room tip: There's no lift so ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility problems or a lot of luggage!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OcassionalTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We're so pleased you found our Ashbourne hotel to be in a great location and you enjoyed the surroundings on offer. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location with a supermarket opposite and a pub with food next door and good parking and a good drive to Alton towers so was perfect for my visit. I would recommend for Alton towers trips mainly, but having the food access opposite hotel was great.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank pezianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

We travelled as a family and booked the room as a stop off. It was nice cheap,cheerful and comfortable. We were greeted and welcomed by a lovely receptionist who quickly checked us in and gave us any extra towels etc that we needed. Room was comfortable, bathroom clean and shower worked fine. Would recommend !!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mully T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Good location for Carsington Water (12 mins away), and in a pretty area, though it's a mile into the town itself, so the only choice for food that is on your doorstep is the Marstons pub next door which serves dreadful food.

The traveldoge was clean and comfortable, the children's beds not great in our family room, thought double bed was very comfy. These rooms are basic, more so than the similarly priced Premier Inns, but for a one or two night stay, perfectly do-able and the location was quiet.
here's an Aldi next door - ideal to get breakfast items to eat in your room.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank jonrichrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews