We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I needed”
Review of Compton House

Compton House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Compton House
Ranked #17 of 26 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Compton House after a long drive from Holyhead and was able to park almost directly outside the premises without any problems. The room was excellent in quality (with a very comfortable bed and more than adequate shower), the owner provided me with good advice regarding the best places to eat in Ashbourne, and the breakfast was top class.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyfeckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a late review. We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2012 for a wedding. We stayed in the large room . It was clean and large enough for comfort. The bathroom was huge with a very large corner bath with a seat. The place was lovely and clean and breakfast was really good. A cooked breakfast and a selection of cereals fruit, etc were left for you to help yourself. We were at the rear of the building and it was very quiet. The location is great as you are in the centre of the town. I would visit again.

Room Tip: I was not aware of noise but a room at the rear is quiet as this is located on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the crompton for a few night whilst we visited local atraction (alton towers)

The house is located on the main road but has parking round the back, we were on the ground floor and did not hear any or much noise from the road or sainsbury.

The room was a good size. Not massive but good for a b&b, the beds were cuuuuuuumfy

The host was warm and inviting and very helpful.

The location is superb for those visiting asbourne and surounding areas for walks ect, and is a very easy 15-20mins drive to alton towers (avoiding the main routs and the trafic)

I would also recomend bennys the local pizza/kebbab shop.

All in all we enjoyed our weekend and would not hesitate to book again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at bonfire weekend to see the fireworks at Tutbury Castle and Alton Towers (15 mins drive away). Location is good, right in the centre of Ashbourne with space for parking at the back (though I did feel like I was running over the Sainsburys shoppers to get to it!).

The room was lovely and clean, with some nice horlicks and hot chocolate, not just the standard tea and coffee. Bed was really comfy and there was a good shower in the en-suite. The lady running the B&B is lovely and helpful, offering us a good choice for breakfast, which was so nice and filling we only needed a light lunch in the day.

We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vaproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent location in central Ashbourne, with parking, within walking distance of pubs and restaurants and very near the start of the Tissington Trail, yet surprisingly quiet. Comfortable beds, lovely and clean everywhere, a good family room for the grandchildren, a deluxe one for us grandparents, cosy rooms for the others, and a warm welcome to our large family group including boys of 6 and 8 and our bicycles. We all had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teala48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Compton House is well located in Ashbournpains the parking facility a bonus. Everything in Ashbourne is within easy walking distance and the Tissington Trail only a couple of hundred yards away. The hosts, Jane and David are always willing to assist and make your stay enjoyable, nothing is too much trouble , breakfast fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rother01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here as it was on our way home after a busy holiday and due to go to Alton towers the next morning. Our original hotel has overbooked so we were relieved when this b&b had a family room available. At £90 in a b&b I thought this was quite steep but everywhere was fully booked and we were thankful they had a room free.
We booked at 6pm via late rooms and arrived at 8.30pm. We were greeted by the owner whose first words after a long tiring journey were "You're lucky I was in as I was out last night and you only booked at 6pm"! Immediately felt like she was doing us a favour by taking our £90 off us! The room was very clean but extremely dated. The whole place was very 1983, but that wasn't an issue. The owner asked us immediately what we'd like for breakfast, a little on the pressured side we just opted for toast and cereal (didn't want to put her out even more, go forbid) my son stated he might like a couple of sausages and she replied "well, one".
We slept fine, beds were comfy, no noise even though on a main road.
The breakfast was nice and were greeted warmly in the morning. On departure the card machine wasn't working so my partner told her she could take his card details down and process them later, he was told "don't worry, I already have" this was followed by, "you said you're going to Alton Towers today? Well your daughter looked very tired at breakfast today". I found this extremely in appropriate, and offensive. All in all the b&b served its purpose, however maybe it's suited to the older generation. As I felt unwelcome and slightly irritated.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cookiescream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ashbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George & Dragon
The George & Dragon
#2 of 26 in Ashbourne
227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillcrest House
Hillcrest House
#1 of 26 in Ashbourne
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Dog & Partridge Country Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton House

Address: 27-31 Compton Street, Ashbourne DE6 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range: $90 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Compton House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Compton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton House Ashbourne, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing