We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waverley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Great Value hotel with beautiful spacious room, all amenities tea,coffee,flat screen freeview TV etc. comfortable bar with sky sports which was a bonus for my partner! Evening meal was excellent and breakfast a feast. All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us even though it was very busy. Could not fault our stay in any way will be back again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
28
36
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was a late booking for the Bank Holiday weekend so I was delighted to get something for just £60 per room per night, far cheaper than anything else that was available at such short notice. The hotel is centrally located and although adjacent street parking was limited to 1 hour there was a free car park just a couple of minutes away. Check in was exceptioanlly quick and staff friendly and helpful throughout. The decor in room 6, a standard double, was tired and old fashioned and the plaster was crumbling behind the wallpaper. The room was small as was the bed, despite being a double and was very warm. The window needed to be open day and night and the temperature wasn't particulalry high outside. The floor boards creaked and groaned and there was an almost constant sound of running water, presumably from toilets beign flushed. On the plus side the room was well equiped. Plenty of clothes storage space, modern TV with Freeview, tea/coffee tray with biscuits, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and bath robes. The bathroom was compact, the sink small but it provided instant piping hot water although the light above the sink didn't work. The shower was fine and towels were changed daily if required. The breakfast was buffet style and included the usual cooked fayre. Eggs were only scrambled on the menu but I was provided with fried on request. There was also yoghurt, fruit, toast and Jams, fruit juice and cereals. The bar and restaurant were well used by non residents which must be a good sign but I only had 1 meal there and it was fine. All in all an ok hotel which represents good value for money

Room Tip: Go for a superior room unless you really want to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arabchris225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a hotel that does the job. Not a place for a romantic weekend away! Nice staff and the food varies from below average to above average, not much more than that. Breakfast is pretty rubbish to be fair. Rooms are ok, bathrooms ok. As I said, it does the job if your working in the area. The pub area is perfect for working men. Pool, darts, sports TV and good prices and offers on drink.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Workington is not exactly a tourist hot spot but seems to have plenty of business visitors as when i visited the area i couldn't get in at my usual hotel and could only get in at the Waverley for one night, which surprised me as i hadn't had great review from colleagues who had visited previously who had warned me the hotel wasn't up to much. I was pleasantly surprised therefore to receive a very friendly and efficient greeting on arrival. The room provided was spotlessly clean and recently refurbished to a good standard. My only gripe would be that the TV was in a bit of an awkward position and the windows needed cleaning on the outside. The bathroom was nice and very clean. As with all hotels these days the room doors are a bit noisy which doesn't combine well when you have lots of construction workers leaving early. I didn't get to try the restaurant but the menu suggests it is reasonably priced and i noticed it seemed popular with guests when i looked in. Ideally i would have rated the hotel a solid good if the rating was available on TA and i certainly wont be disappointed if i have to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeaches02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Prefer the old gin house the room rate is too expensive for what you get I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryangiggs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Workington hotels

Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

this hotel is a lovley family run hotel exellent home cooked food and a great bar that welcomes all a nice resturant and brilliant freindly staff and owners who makes you feel verry welcome as soon as you are checking in at reception and now that allerdale councill have finally stepped up to the mark and closed william street club its a nice quiet area and well worth visiting i will definatley be returning as it was a lovley stay and loved every day we were there thanx to all staff shirlxxxx

Room Tip: exellent food and a great atmosphere in bar etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, on arrival i checked in, And was helped by a very pleasent receptionist, i then went to the bar in the hotel, which had a very nice vibe to it, and had a very good range of alcohol. I then went up to my room which was very basic but had all i required, the shower was very poor tht was my only concern. Would recommend, friendly hotel. Breakfast was very nice too.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
127 reviews
3.1 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
22 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Property: Waverley Hotel
Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing