We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Spent 5 days with coach party .Hotel in need of a bit TLC but overall enjoyed my stay . Food and service were both excellent

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corriesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    25
    24
    33
See reviews for
13
32
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel was chintzy with a miss match of furniture, which to me was fine because not everyone likes to sit on sofas and soft chairs. Our room was clean & tidy with everything we needed for our stay. Bathroom was huge and also clean, problem with getting sufficient hot water though, windows opened but had to be propped up with something. Meals were excellent, hot food served on hot plates. Service in dining room bit slow though, mentioned this to the manager and it is being addressed. The hotel is also within walking distance for the train & bus stations as well as the main shopping area. Well stocked bar but prices a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myallmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Arrived in Workington and phoned around to find a hotel/B&B. Telephoned the Cumberland Hotel and asked the rate - £70. When asking whether we could negotiate a discount the "manager" slammed the phone down. Some hours later after finding a nice cosy B&B we walked passed the hotel and decided to speak with the manager. He was extremely arrogant and was not at all interested in listening to anything but his own voice. Didn't stay there but glad we didn't.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank marcwa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Workington hotels

derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

i agree with previous writer yes the hotel was chintzy, but you don,t live there so why complain ,the hotel was very clean the food very good,not great big meals but more than enough and the food was served on hot plates i have an issue about hot food on cold plates. we were made very welcome by the owners which is nice ,just one word of warning what ever you do ,don,t smoke in the hotel you will set off the fire alarms and you will be arrested this happened to a young man (not in our party) whilst we were there only one minor complaint there is no double glazing in the bedrooms the rooms can be cold even with the heating on maybe in the future ,management could look at addressing this issue but all in all a good time

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Overall I felt sorry and sad - the hotel is that breed slowly being pushed out by the multiples offering a standard room - so it is a choice of modern simplicity against olde world charm but feeling a bit past it.

The hotel feels it age - even though the ground floor has clearly been decorated in a rather old but fussy style - but the bedroom felt tired. Took a long time (i.e. next morning) to work out how to use the television (it is controlled by switches near the bed head). The room was cramped but remembering it is an old building then we were not disappointed and feel that criticism has to be put into context of what we were paying and its history.

We did not realise they did evening food - did not see any menus and was not mentioned when we arrived - thought the closed area was the breakfast room.

Bit shocked on arrival to find that they had writen my full credit card number and other details (that I had give over the phone when booking that morning) next to my name in a booking in diary in the unstaffed, open reception area!

Taking the hotel for what it is - then we were both satisfied - and it was good value

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandhcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Chintz yes, but really well done with a great deal of thought, with curtains and matching cushions to go with the wallpaper, very comfortable green and pink chairs and settees, beautiful flower arrangements and all very clean and well and tidily kept.

The rooms are in the process of being renovated, and though ours hadn’t been reached yet it was clean with comfortable beds with nice bed linen, plenty of storage and a modernised en-suite shower room, very adequate for our short stay.

The evening meal was really good with 3 choices for each course, nicely presented with vegetables on separate dishes. The cooked part of the breakfast might not have been enough for some but there was cereal, toast and tea in plentiful supply.

The lady owner (nothing like Cybil Fawlty) and the rest of the staff were all very pleasant and we had a vey enjoyable stay with good evening entertainment and nice weather thrown in.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Oh arrival we were ushered into the world of chintz by the owner who bares an uncanny resemblance to Sibil Fawlty ..... the cumberland hotel is the northern version of Fawlty Towers !!! Our bedroom overlooked the station and there is road noise. The door to our room to didnt lock, the sash window had to propt open with a teaspoon as the sashes had broken, the bathroom door wouldnt close and the matteress had died years ago and felt just like a bag of spanners!!! .
Yes the owners allowed their 2 black spaniels on the furniture and we saw a cat in the restaurant !
But there were good points the food was good , plenty of hot water and towels, new carpet in all the public area's, the staff were helpful and if you like chintz ... that could make a great difference to your stay and enjoyment at the Cumberland .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goody_118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.7 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: Station Road, Workington CA14 2XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel Workington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing