We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent weekend in the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent weekend in the lakes”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

stayed 2 nights on a groupon deal with my wife 25th jan, excellent stay,staff very welcoming,nice meal in resturant, waiter very professional,excellent breakfast cooked breakfast extra,bar inviting after days walking, perfect for stay in the lakes,would highly recomend

Room Tip: get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennylad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    152
    38
    18
    17
See reviews for
55
394
7
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile


I stayed at the Hunday Manor in November 2012 for business and
I must say how very pleasant and comfortable my stay was. I will
recommend Hunday Manor to all of my colleagues who might be in the area on
business. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, the room
was very comfortable and good to work in, and the food was of a high standard. Excellent.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Hunday Manor and had a wonderful relaxing time. We were made to feel very welcome and any questions or queries we had were answered immediately.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, which makes your weekend more relaxing. We thought the restaurant prices were a little on the expensive side, but there is a bar menu you can choose from and was more reasonably priced.
All the food we tried was of excellent quality. The decor throughout was very tasteful as befits this lovely hotel. This is a place we would certainly go back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonmanc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have been to Hunday Manor many times for lunch on our visits to the Workington area but this time we decided to stay there. We arrived in the early evening and received a very warm welcome from the staff. Our room was decorated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable, there were toiletries in the bathroom and there was a huge choice of teas and coffees in the room. There was a good choice for breakfast, either continental or English, and the food was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and next time we ddecide to stay in Workington we will be booking Hunday Manor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanita625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The beautify of this hotel stops on the outside.

The first room I was checked into didn't have clean sheets; this was made clear by large amounts of the previous guests body hair sheded onto the bed. I was moved by an apologetic man on the reception into the only other free room (a twin, not double). The bed here was clean but there were urine stains and masses of body hair in the shower tray. Neither rooms had been hoovered recently, bathrooms were generally unclean and the chairs and fittings were covered in dirt and dust.

Breakfast the next day had to be spat out as some of the food was off. The eggs must have been powdered and if they weren't, it takes an enormous amount of skill to scramble eggs that badly.

Apauling in every way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank adclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice over Xmas one to a party night and the other a set 3 course meal, and it was brilliant! Graet value for money for freshly cooked food and great service, I will definatly be back. The night also included a disco and a band you don't get much better than this great night by all of US

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandairedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Hunday manor for our works Christmas party and had a fantastic meal and night. Lovely staff the hotel was very clean we really enjoyed it. Came back on New years day for our dinner and it was beautiful 4 courses with coffee and truffles came home and didnt move off the sofa was that full. Highly reccomend the Hunday manor we will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzlealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
15.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
141 reviews
11.9 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
168 reviews
9.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunday Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

Property: Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Address: A595 towards Whitehaven, Workington CA14 4JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Workington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Workington
#2 Business Hotel in Workington
#4 Family Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunday Manor Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and relaxation served with a warm Cumbrian welcome Welcome to our friendly family run Country House Hotel peacefully located between the stunning Western Lake District fells and Cumbrian coast. Here at Hunday Manor we have the perfect balance of style, comfort and character mixed with a genuine warm, welcoming atmosphere making it the ideal place to enjoy meal, get a great night's sleep, relax with friends or celebrate a special occasion. We are passionate about ensuring your experience at Hunday Manor is the best it can be. When we say nothing is too much trouble we really mean it. From the moment you walk through our doors, our team will make you feel relaxed, welcome and well looked after. Making you feel special is what we do and that is why so many of our guests choose to come back many times and why we are one of only a handful of hotels awarded the prestigious 4 Star Silver Award from Visit Britain. Come and visit us soon and you'll be made very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hunday Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunday Manor Country Hotel
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel Workington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing