We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding”
Review of Brewery House

Brewery House
Ranked #7 of 59 Restaurants in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Brewery House! Our aim is to ensure that your visit is a pleasurable experience - whether it's for a quiet drink, an evening with friends in the bar playing darts and watching TV sports or a relaxing three-course meal with your family in our refurbished restaurant.Our 60-seater restaurant serves a wide variety of delicious home cooked freshly-prepared food, including starters, main courses and desserts all competitively priced, available at lunchtimes and evenings. Our Sunday lunches attract diners from across West Cumbria.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Golden Wedding”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went to a golden wedding really good food, atmosphere and service.
Good choice for all three courses. Steak and ale pie spot on.
Real ale available

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewery H, Owner at Brewery House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit and I am glad you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    72
    32
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bar meal”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Brewery House in Harrington is a good place for a bar meal. The food is good and the staff are pleasant. It is clean and there is a small outside seating area if required. We have been a few times and have never been disappointed but I do not think it is the place to go for special occasions. We tried it once for a "office christmas do" and were packed in like sardines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewery H, Owner at Brewery House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and whilst we appreciate some of your positive comments I am concerned why you feel we are only suitable for a bar meal!

We have numerous 'special occasions' that have booked with us and fully enjoyed their time and experience with us. In the next 3 weeks alone we have 6 parties booked all in excess of 20 people per booking.

I do wonder why you have now taken the time to review us after all this time and mention Christmas when that would have been over 9 months ago if not longer depending on what year you come, unless it was to try and challenge our Christmas bookings this year, just when we start advertising them??

I would like to say that we do not intentionally 'pack you in like sardines' as you say we do. However on occasions we have a number of organisers that have booked parties with us for say 25 and then all of a sudden the party jumps to 30+ - what are we supposed to do in those circumstances when we are full already? We do explain that we are full and can not accommodate them and then it becomes a stand off as we don't want to 'pack them in as you say', but also want to ensure parties that come to us are not disappointed because friends could not be with them that wanted to be. It is always the venue that is left in bad light whichever way we try to handle the situation.

I just wish the feedback could have come earlier and with a date of the Christmas party to enable us to look in to it further. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me on 01946 830677.

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Keep coming back”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Another excellent meal visited Saturday had the sirloin surf and turf cooked to perfection looking forward to my next visit.
also can I say I have been coming to the brewery house for just over a year now and how people can say the staff are not friendly because this is not true staff are always friendly helpful and polite every time we go they are always busy so if the staff where rude and the food was tasteless do you really think they would be busy as they are why can't people just put honest reviews on instead of reviews that can cause damage

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewery H, Owner at Brewery House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sarah,

Many thanks Sarah for your review again we appreciate it, all of the team do.

Hopefully see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Decided last minute to go for a meal here and pleased we did, as always the food was out of this world.have never had a bad meal there yet so can highly recommend it if you want good food in in a lovely comfortable and clean environment with very helpful friendly staff then make it your first choice. ALSO please note that if you have dietary needs they go out of their way to let you know if you ask what is in a meal so that you don't eat what you cant have.
Keep it up Brewery house.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewery H, Owner at Brewery House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit - The team and I appreciate it.

we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor service rude staff bad food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for a birtgday meal and found it tasteless and the staff were very rude I will not be going back EVER...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveroftravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewery H, Owner at Brewery House, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and I am sorry you did not receive what is usually a positive experience at our venue. I would like to give the following response to your review however.

Without knowing what date in August you came I can not look back at our bookings to enable us to investigate the review fully. Perhaps you could give us a call on 01946 830677 to enable us to investigate this further. It would help also if when you write your reviews if you could be a little more detailed in your review rather than just saying the food was tastless! Let us and other readers know what you had and the rest of your table and how you seemed it should have been better.

In relation to staff being rude I find this really hard to believe. All of our staff are well trained in customer service and can be evidenced by the number of very positive reviews we get about them. Again what made the staff rude / what happened on the night for you to say that? again we can not challenge staff members and put right any training that they may need to make us better if we not given all the information to check back on rota's to see who was working etc.

Birthday celebrations tend to stick in your mind because they are usually a big party or they have a cake etc, however looking through the diary I can not see any notes of a celebration etc so again any details you can email us with or call us to carry out an investigation we would be grateful. Email: info@brewery-house.co.uk

Regards


Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewery House also viewed

 
Workington, Cumbria
Workington, Cumbria
 

Been to Brewery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing