We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
3
5
6
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
5
6
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2017

Was pleasantly surprised when I got to the single room. Looked recently refurbished and seemed perfectly fine. Bed is very high from the floor. Bathroom lovely. Had a shower though, and was only when getting out of the shower, found that the towel had obviously been covered in black oil before, been washed, and then placed in my room, with big black oil stains over it. The bath mat also had some kind of mark on it. I walked across the road to the Washington and was given spare towels and the receptionist said she would pop over and collect the old ones. She never did.

Bulb didn't work in the desk light but thankfully the other lamp by the bed did. Generally, although the room was very clean, one would expect more from housekeeping not to notice heavily stained towels and a bulb broken. Walls are really thin - could hear a couple chatting (and other things) next door.

Cheekiest thing is the 3% credit card fee when leaving. Wasn't warned about it at all until I received the invoice and was out of the hotel. I've NEVER been to a hotel that charges a credit card fee, and I've stayed in many. Though a little warning prior to payment would have been handy too. I don't want to sound too critical, as the room itself was spotless and the receptionist very smiley. I could have just about coped with the dirty towels, but the credit card fee really was taking the mickey. I'd probably stay there again, but just check the towels and bulbs when I get there and ensure I pay on debit card next time!! Oh and don't plan on any bedtime cuddles with the partner, unless you don't mind the guests next door having a giggle!

Room tip: Ask for a room around the side - the front rooms are facing bars open until 3am at weekends.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Good afternoon Paul,
A review expressing both negative and positive aspects of your recent stay, shows that you have taken time to consider a balanced assessment. I am sorry for the codition of the bathroom linen, and the spent bulb...these should not have been overlooked, although it is pleasing that you found the levels of houskeeping generally to be 'spotless' . Due to bank charges it is unfortunate that we now levy a 3% surcharge on credit cards, however debit cards incur no charge at all, a note for your next visit. Many thanks for your review. Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

The Sleepwell Inn is the sister hotel of the Washington Central Hotel. This is a smaller hotel and was room omly. This hotel however was extremely clean and room sizes were larger than normal.
The interior of the hotel is impressive and worth viewing.
Wouldn't recommend for families due to no breakfast being available.
There is no service at this hotel and keys must be collected from the Washington Central.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Good Evening Tracey,
Your recent reservation at the Sleepwell inn is much appreciated as is the time taken to post a review. Your observations on room sizes and cleanliness are most welcome. Breakfast are available at the Washington Central hotel at £10 per person, but as you state not included in the normal room only rates. Thank you. Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

Decided to have a weekend in the lakes with my wife as she had never been after booking early we headed of on the 30th April 2016 we arrived in Workington went to book in and was directed across to a scruffy looking hotel building across the road by the lady on the reception on entering the building it did look slightly better we then went to the room the room was very small and dirty my wife said she would clean the bath as we had just driven 4 hours so didn't really want to look for another hotel as most places were fully booked after a hour of cleaning the bath and tiles we decided to freshen up to find somewhere to eat we came back a couple of hours later the room was very cold water pipes were banging and clanging all night so had no sleep all night got up and left on leaving we took the keys back across to the Washington hotel were we made a complaint but seemed to fall on deaf ears I am sorry to say but with years in hotel business I would not recommend this to anyone shame as hoping to spend more time in the area and hope to invest in the local community.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank pdorans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawildwchotel, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Good afternoon Mr and Mrs Dorans,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review on trip advisor. We value all reviews whether they are of a positive or negative nature, unfortunately on this occasion your review falls into the latter category. Your observations on the levels of housekeeping, do surprise myself and the housekeeping team, as we are often praised by other guests and the hotel inspectors for our consistently high levels of cleanliness. If on arrival, you felt that your bathroom was not entirely to your satisfaction, we would have responded immediately, had you reported this and brought it to our attention upon entering your guest room. Equally any issues with the plumbing could a have been reported to reception or the night manager, again giving us the opportunity to investigate and rectify. Should you be visiting Workington in the near future please call me personally, this may give us the opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience of our facilities. Kindest regards, Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

We made a last minute (on the day) booking via booking.com to stay here as we were passing through to visit Keswick. The Sleepwell is part of the Central Hotel which is located just across the street and is where check-in takes place. We were surprised when we got our keys and returned to our building; to find the beautifully decorated room that we did. We were in a family room and it was ideal for us as we are all close and didn't stay long. It was clean and well maintained. The only complaint is a little bit of noise as our window was right on the main road pavement.
We recommend this place though, and will certainly be looking to see if it is part of a hotel group for future trips.

We never ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast or dinner due to time constraints. Every member of staff we met were pleasant and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aimeed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawildwchotel, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2015

Aimee, thank you for your reservation and a genuine accurate review of our Sleepwell Inn facility. Your appreciation of the décor, maintenance and cleanliness is most welcome. As a town centre hotel noise can be an issue at times from the nearby roads or local bars. We are a privately owned family establishment, managed from The Washington Central hotel. So if you have cause to visit West Cumbria in the near future, please call us direct for the best deal. Regards, Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend. I was contacted by one of the staff to ask what time we expected to be arriving as we had resquested an early check in. (Yes, they do do them!) Imagine the surprise when the receptionist from the hotel over the road advises that we could get into our room until 2pm! What was the point of confirming our request and checkin?? The rooms are a little pokey but really good, modern clean facilities, a word of warning though PARKING get there fast as its very limited and the people there can be inconsiderate and block you in as they abandon their vehicles! Overall a reasonable stay but be warned of over efficient staff!

Room tip: On entering make sure you get a room to the right hand side away from the club!
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HiltzTheCoolerKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kawildwchotel, General Manager at The Sleepwell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for the Sleepwell Inn. We are pleased that you found the facilities to be clean and modern with efficient staff. Our town centre location can cause parking issues , however we do have additional free parking nearby. Please ask at reception on your next visit and they will be more than happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews