We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Ginn House Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Melbreak Country House Hotel(Workington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hall Park Hotel(Workington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sleepwell Inn(Workington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waverley Hotel(Workington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
87
57
15
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
57
15
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathlarge portionsfamily roomgin househuge bedroomyoung daughtermy family and i stayed heremixed grilllake districtcumbrian breakfastquiet areabar and restaurantslight issueexcellent value for moneyample parkingflat screen tvate here
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overnight business trip, always found Workington a dessert, this place is an oasis. Great food, comfy room, just what you need after a tough days work. In a small village with a couple of pubs, which were shut on Monday??? Great staff, will be back..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip, and found your room to be comfy and the food to be great.
Even if the other village pubs are not open on a Monday we offer a good selection of soft drinks, wines, spirits and beers, including Cumbrian gin and real ales!
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Fabulous traditional inn with lovely menu and great quality food with good portions. Spacious room with comfy beds, tastefully decorated and lovely large powerful shower. Perfect. Peaceful and excellent value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank shirley_gaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We would like to thank you for your great comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking and hope to see you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We found this place while hunting for a hotel for a one night stay. The staff are very friendly and the price is good value for money. We also used the restaurant for dinner and out breakfast. Both meals were very nice with amazing portion size. Our room was very clean and very contemporary in style. My only slight issue was the bed was not that comfortable but we have a memory foam at home so it's more than likely the reason why we had a problem.
I would be very happy to stay here again...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Johnyeo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We are delighted that you found the Old Ginn House Inn, and are pleased that you found us to be friendly, good value and that you enjoyed your meals.
We are sorry that you found the bed not that comfortable, as the beds (or mattress) were replaced when we recently refurbished our rooms (it is difficult to know whether our guests would prefer a softer or a firmer mattress).
Once again thank you for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked on my behalf by a colleague when we were on a business trip to Workington. Did not really know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms appear to have been recently refurbished (Premier Inn style which is no bad thing) and it was clean comfortable with an excellent bed and shower.
The staff were very welcoming and I can't fault anyone as they all made us feel welcome but were not too formal.
We ate in the restaurant and there was a good selection of traditional meals and the portion sizes were very generous.
All in all The Old Ginn House does what it sets out to do - be a comfortable relaxed place to stay with a good bar and restaurant serving good food and drink,
I would stay here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

We are pleased that your colleague chose the Old Ginn House Inn for your business trip.
We try to ensure that our guests have a most relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've stayed at the Old Gin House several times now and found that the level of service and quality of rooms offered by the OGH to be both excellent and consistent. The full Cumbrian breakfast definitely sets you up for the day and the rooms are spacious. As you would expect they have lakeland ales in the bar which are good and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P002m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your review - we have passed on your comments to our staff who are grateful for your kind words; is always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated.

We are delighted that you like our rooms and our Cumbrian Grill breakfast.

Local ales are exactly what most of our guests expect when staying in a traditional Inn.

Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews